JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 17.5-19 – Las Vegas

October 6, 2009 at 12:56 am 1 comment

 I landed in Vegas at 6:30 – just in time for dinner!  My friend Megan and her husband picked me up, and we headed to Sammy’s Woodfired Pizza.  I got the 5 cheese pizza, which was ridiculously good.  It’s now one of my favorite pizzas ever.  Yep, it’s even up there with Chicago pizza!  After dinner, we headed back to their place.  We chatted for a bit, and then I fell into bed.

Saturday morning, we got up “bright and early” (8am for me) and headed over to a Mary Kay class.  Yep, Megan sells Mary Kay.  I had used Mary Kay products before – specifically, the skin care set several years ago.  I liked it but got something cheaper when I ran out because I was a college student.  I’d also tried the Satin Hands set when my friend got it for Christmas one year, and that was pretty cool.  Then I forgot about Mary Kay.  I had a blast trying stuff out at this facial and makeover class, and it’s definitely high quality stuff.  The mascara is what impressed me most.  I have VERY sensitive eyes, and I’ve only been able to stand Chanel mascara.  I was pretty nervous about trying the Mary Kay mascara, especially since it’s only $10-15 v. $28 for Chanel.  8 hours later, my eyes were still functioning normally – no irritation from mascara flakes!  It was only at about 10 hours that I had even the slightest irritation, and that was incredibly minor and momentary.  I’m so sold on the mascara (and the other gentle, sensitive skin friendly products) that I’m thinking about signing up to sell the stuff.  Before and after photos under the cut…

Anyway, after the makeover, we had a lovely lunch with the other Mary Kay folks, chatted a bit, and then headed out.  Where did we go?  Town Square.  This is a super nice outdoor mall very close to the airport.  It’s also home to Yogurtland, a terrific self-serve frozen yogurt place.  I got Nutter Butter (non-fat!), pomegranate raspberry tart, and plain with Cap’n Crunch and Butterfinger crumbles.  Yum!!  AND it was cheap since you pay just $.30/ounce.  Oh!  Also, there was a fun vintage Volkswagon show going on.

We hung out for a bit back at Megan’s place, chatting and watching movies.  We dipped our feet in her pool, but it was too windy to actually get in.  It was also too windy to stick to our original plan of seeing Taming of the Shrew, Henderson’s Shakespeare in the Park offering, so the three of us decided to treat ourselves to a nice dinner at Tamba, a fantastic Indian restaurant (the only Indian restaurant on the Strip).  Back at Megan’s, we played a fun game, Puerto Rico.  It’s kind of like a more complicated version of Settlers of Catan.  I won, so, of course, I think it’s a great game.  lol

I slept in a bit again on Sunday, caught up with my parents and husband, and finally rolled out to join Megan and Tyler watching the LDS General Conference morning session.  The choir is really good, and there were a lot of good messages shared, even for non-LDS folks like myself.  (I’m a regular ol’ Protestant.)  Then Megan made us some amazing French toast with strawberries for brunch.  We chatted, watched the rest of the movie we’d started the day before, and then watched the afternoon session of the conference.  It was a great way to get me all geared up to head to Salt Lake City!  Next up – chicken quesadillas with homemade guacamole for “dinch/lunner” and then I’m off to the airport.

The budget:
10/2 – dinner $20 + fro yo $2.54 = $22.54
10/3 – fro yo $2.03 + stamps $5.60 + dinner $30 + cards $1.08 = $38.71
10/4 – $0!!!
Totals: $61.25 for Vegas, $394.58 for 19 days, $20.77/day.  Whew!  Good thing I have the expanded budget.  Of course, if I hadn’t, I would’ve done things a little differently – probably sent thank you emails instead of thank you postcards, skipped a couple desserts, etc.  Anyway, I’m doing pretty darned well!

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 15.5-17.5 – Los Angeles JetBlue #AYCJ: Day 20 – Salt Lake City

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


