JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 15.5-17.5 – Los Angeles

October 4, 2009 at 2:58 pm Leave a comment

On Wednesday (September 30), I flew from Seattle to Long Beach, CA, where my friend E picked me up.  She drove us to the Queen Mary, an old Cunard ship that’s now a hotel.  We had drinks and apps for dinner at the Observation Bar.  The view was great, and the ship was pretty interesting.  We were surprised at how dead it was though.  On our way to E’s place, we stopped in at *drumroll* PINKBERRY!  I looove the tart fro yo but hadn’t been to Pinkberry before.  My friend told them I was a Pinkberry virgin, so they applauded as I came in and gave me samples of everything.  lol  Anyway, I got my usual (tart + Cap’n Crunch), which was really good.  Better than the fro yo I got at Berry Chill in Chicago.

Thursday morning I caught up on a little tv, and then my friend M picked me up.  We headed to Santa Monica.  We strolled around the 3rd Street Promenade and saw some hideous acid washed jeans at H+M. 

Then we headed to the Pier, where we met our friend J, her mom, and her two adorable little boys.  We had lunch at Bubba Gump (boy, was it hot in there!), and then strolled around the pier.  We had a great time chatting, looking at the rides, admiring the beach, and giggling over the birds.

My friend E took me out for an awesome time Thursday night, which I should’ve expected since she’s always busy doing really fun things.  First we went to Roscoe’s House of Chicken and Waffles in Hollywood.  I got a breast and a waffle, and it was great!  Then we headed over to The Groundlings for their Thursday night improv show, “Cooking with Gas.”  While we were driving around to park and then walking around before the show, we saw Jay Leno!  That was super cool.  We also spotted plenty of medical marijuana shops.

Anyway, the show.  One of the guest cast members was Nicole Parker, who recently wrapped up a stint as Elphaba in Wicked.  The whole cast was funny, but she was really fantastic.  After the show, we went to Sweet Lady Jane for cupcakes.  The icing was The Creamiest Icing Ever.  And the cupcakes were gorgeous.  Then E drove me around Beverly Hills on the way back to her place.  What a great night!  She always thinks up the most fun stuff to do.

On Friday morning, I strolled around my friend’s neighborhood, blogged, caught up on some more tv, and chatted with my husband a little.  Then my Twitter/EADL friend, graphic designer extraordinaire AnneKinLA, picked me up for a late lunch and to take me to the airport.  We hit up Hot Dog on a Stick in Burbank, which was just as delicious as my Seattle friend promised.  Then we made the obligatory Pinkberry visit before heading over to the airport.  It was cool to meet Anne in person!

The budget:

9/30 – dinner $16 + Pinkberry $3.95 = $19.95.
10/1 – lunch $13 + cards $1.10 + dinner $11 =$25.10. You’ll notice there’s nothing here for my cupcake or ticket to the improv show – my sweet friend E treated me.
10/2 – Pinkberry $2.68.  Yep, AnneK treated me to my corn dog and lemonade.  So nice!
Total: $47.73 for LA, $333.33 total (freaky!).  $19.05/day.

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 13.5-15.5 – Seattle JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 17.5-19 – Las Vegas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


