JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 12-13.5 – Boston

October 2, 2009 at 10:45 am Leave a comment

My friends dropped me off at ORD Sunday (September 27) morning, and I flew to Boston.  The flight was fine, which was a relief.  Oh, I don’t think I mentioned that my flight from JFK->ORD was bad.  Someone had spilled coffee (I hope, anyway) on the flight before me at my seat, and the floor was totally soaked.  My sock got all wet and gross, as did my bag.  It took me more than 5 minutes and pushing the flight attendant button a couple times to get someone to come see me.  And then she wasn’t too interested – first she tried to say I spilled something, and then she tried to say something in my bag exploded.  No, hon, you didn’t do your job too well; it has nothing to do with me.  She grudgingly brought me a couple sanitizing wipes and some napkins.  And she never checked back with me either.  It was totally gross.  I thought I was going to “smuke.”  Anyway, on to Boston.

My friend C picked me up from the airport, and we drove out of town to meet our friend E and her son for lunch at Flatbread.  Flatbread is this funky wood fired pizza place where a lot of the ingredients are organic.  We shared a mushroom pepperoni flatbread and gingerbread cake with pumpkin ice cream; it was delish!  Also, I had a Greary’s Autumn Ale, which was really good.  We had a great visit.  I wish I had a pic of all of us, but that’s on E’s camera (my camera is a beast, so I don’t like to ask people to deal with it if there’s another option; E is working on her dissertation, so she hasn’t had a chance to email me her pics yet).  You’ll have to do with a couple pics I do have.  What a cute little one, right?

Then C took me to my friend V’s place in Waltham.  V and I settled in to catch up with each other for a bit, and she made pasta with homemade sauce and some yummy cheese and bread.  She’s all about the fancy Italian cooking, which her boyfriend totally appreciates.  After dinner, the three of us headed over to Harvard.  I rubbed the foot of the John Harvard statue for luck, we checked out Harvard Square (I pet a cat who lives at the newsstand on the corner – so cute!), and we had some beer at John Harvard’s Brew House (the Oktoberfest was mild but good).  We checked out J.P. Licks.  I tasted and loved the Oreo cake batter but was too full to get any.  V tried the basil+tomato and avacado – ewwww!  Then it was back to V’s place and to bed.

In the morning, V took me to this adorable little breakfast spot, Cafe on the Common.  I had hot chocolate, a ridiculously tasty strawberry scone, and a Boston cream cupcake for later (it was good).

The budget:
9-27 $15 lunch + $1.12 cards = $16.12 (V’s boyfriend bought my beer; he’s such a sweetie.)
9-28 $7.21 breakfast + $6.45 lunch (for Lunchables at JFK – what a ripoff!) = $13.66
Total: $238.72 for 13.5 days.  That’s $17.68/day, which is below target – thank goodness.  Seattle and LA are still to come.

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 10-11 – Chicago JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 13.5-15.5 – Seattle

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


