JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 10-11 – Chicago

October 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm 2 comments

On Friday (September 25)  morning, my friend C dropped me off at the Houston/Hobby airport bright and early.  I had to fly through JFK to get to Chicago – what a pain!  Oh well.  The flights were uneventful, and I made full use of the unlimited free snacks for breakfast and lunch.  This worked especially well since my appetite wasn’t totally back yet.  I landed in ORD at about 3:30, and my friend S picked me up and took me back to his and Elizabeth‘s place.  We just relaxed – watched tv, played on the ‘net, and chatted until E got home.  Their adorable doggy got home not long after, so we decided to just get take out for dinner from Portillo’s.  Portillo’s is known for its hot dogs and chocolate cake shake.  I didn’t get a hot dog since I MUST put ketchup on a hot dog and it’s basically illegal to put ketchup on a hot dog in Chicago.  I did, however, indulge in the chocolate cake shake, and YUM!  E had a particularly busy week, so we just had a good time catching up with each other and some bad tv.

I slept nice and late on Saturday, day 11 of my trip.  After showering and getting dressed, I headed out to meet some of my online friends for lunch at Lou Malnati’s, home of some of the best pizza ever.  (Yes, Chicago pizza really is pizza, you crazy New Yorkers!)  I met up with friends K, C, and C’s son, none of whom I’d met before.  It was so great to finally see them in person!  They are even more fun than I’d imagined.  I also got to see D, my friend from Denver, and her kid since they just happened to be visiting family in Chicago that weekend.  Here’s a tip about pizza at Lou’s – it tastes better in the bigger versions than the personal sizes.  Just like Pizza Slut.  I should’ve known!  Oh well; it was still better than anything I can get at home.

After lunch, our group couldn’t bear to part just yet, so we headed to Starbucks and then walked C and her son back to their hotel before parting ways.  I met back up with E and S after that.  I tagged along on their grocery shopping, and we stopped for fro yo at Berry Chill.  I was psyched to get some good tart fro yo again.  It was better than the stuff I have at home, but it wasn’t quite as good as the places I visited in California last month – in my opinion of course.

E and S cooked for us that evening.  S made a yummy pasta dish with ground turkey, and E made a cake.  Here’s the deal with the cake – you get a box of cake mix, a can of frosting, and a small container of ice cream.  Mix the ice cream in with the cake mix before baking.  Then the cake is CREAMY.  It’s such a weird idea, but it’s really good.  E made red velvet with vanilla bean ice cream, and she said it’s second only to a banana cake she made once before.

It was nice to have a relaxing stop in Chicago.  I’ve been there a bunch of times before and I’ll definitely be back again before too long, so I don’t have to worry about seeing tourist stuff.  I’ve seen the stuff I’m the most interested in (hello Art Institute!) more than once, and I’m sure I’ll see it again.

The budget:
9-25 dinner $9.44
9-26 lunch $16 + cards $3.54 + fro yo $4.45 = $23.99
Total: $208.94 for 11 days, which is $18.99/day. This is great – I still have a little wiggle room for Seattle.

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

JetBlue #AYCJ: Day 9 – Houston JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 12-13.5 – Boston

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. osh  |  October 6, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Great pics! We loved seeing you in Chicago!!!!

    Reply
  • 2. Rebekah  |  October 6, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Love the pic of E and Charlie! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


