JetBlue #AYCJ: Day 9 – Houston

September 29, 2009 at 6:30 pm Leave a comment

I finally arrived in Houston about 11pm on Wednesday, September 23.  My friend C picked me up and took me to her house, where I had a great night’s sleep.  I *finally* rolled out of bed at, like, 10am the next morning.  I had a yummy cinnamon roll C had made for breakfast, and we spent the rest of the morning chatting and playing with her adorable little girl.  After some good baked spaghetti for lunch (I really ought to make that sometime; it’s great for leftovers), we headed into Houston.

We spent a nice couple of hours at Houston’s Museum of Fine Arts.  I thought it was great.  It’s not the walk through an art appreciation book like Chicago’s Art Institute, but it’s definitely a nice collection.  I enjoyed getting to see some pieces I hadn’t seen before by artists I love (Monet, Matisse, Caillebotte, Degas, etc.).  One of my favorite things was an animation called “City Glow” by Chiho Aoshima.  It’s an animated panoramic video.  It’s 7 minutes long and definitely worth the time.

 

After the museum, we stopped by Hard Rock Cafe so I could pick up drumsticks.  Then we relaxed and watched tv for a bit at C’s house. 

For dinner, C and I met a couple other friends at El Tiempo 1308 Cantina, a TexMex place in Montrose.  I looooved the neighborhood.  We passed through River Oaks too, which was really fun to see.  So, dinner.  Our friends live in Montrose, so they go to 1308 pretty often.  The chips and salsa + queso were good.  Then our 3 person (yes, there were 4 of us) parilladas showed up.  Holy cats!  It was a LOT of food – a huge pile of meat, 5 bowls of rice, 5 bowls of beans, tortillas, and toppings (cheese, sour cream, etc.).  Yeah… we probably didn’t eat half of it.  Amazing.  The margaritas were good too.  I’d definitely go back here and try to order less food.

The budget: My friends in Houston are “totes ridic.”  Since C fed me and drove me around and our other friends treated for dinner, my total for Houston was $1.84 for a couple postcards, bringing my total for 9 days to $175.51.

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

TTT: Please yourself JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 10-11 – Chicago

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


