JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 6-8 – NYC/CT

September 23, 2009 at 10:07 pm 1 comment

Monday, September 21 – Wednesday, September 23 are getting lumped together in one post because they were somewhat uneventful… At least, most of what happened isn’t worth sharing.  Okay, I’ll explain.

As I mentioned in my last post, I took the red-eye from Denver into JFK Sunday night (well, Monday morning really).  I think I got one of the last seats on that flight, so my seat was in the row right in front of the exit row.  Those seats don’t recline.  Now, sometimes that’s not a big deal.  But the 2 guys in the row ahead of me both reclined their seats back as far as they could.  AND the guy next to me was so tall that his legs simply wouldn’t fit behind the seat in front of him, so one of his knees stuck into my space.  It’s a good thing I’m not claustrophobic because I got pretty freaked out by how little space I had on that flight.  Needless to say, I got zero sleep.

My friend in Connecticut who I stayed with worked part of the day on Monday, so I wasn’t in a big hurry to head her way once I landed.  So… *BE PREPARED – THIS IS ONE OF THE GROSSEST THINGS I’VE EVER DONE* I took a nap on the floor at JFK.  I scouted T5 (that’s Terminal 5, which is all JetBlue all the time for those of you non-AYCJers) and found a quiet corner where I was basically blocked in on three sides.  I put my head on my bookbag, held my purse tight to my chest, and placed my legs so that no one could take my carry-on without waking me up.  I think I got about 30 minutes’ sleep.  I could’ve slept longer, but the ick factor was too much.  LOL  So I got online for a couple hours (the charging stations in T5 are so nice! ) and then headed towards Connecticut.

I took the AirTrain from JFK to the metro and the metro to Penn Station.  I’d decided it would be really fun to walk from Penn Station to Grand Central, where I caught MetroNorth to New Haven.  Well, it was cool to see stuff – I saw tons of people, department stores, the NY public library, and the Empire State Building.  It wasn’t cool dealing with having that rolling bag though.  People always managed to avoid walking into me, but several managed to kick my bag or stick their foot under it or something.  Yeah, I rolled it right over some lady’s foot.  Oops!  I couldn’t have known she was going to try to dart that close behind me.  I made it safely to Grand Central, got my ticket to New Haven, and got on the train.  I napped a bit and played with my phone some on the way.

My friend was waiting for me when I got there, and it was so super to see her!  Finally!  I’ve been talking to her online for YEARS, so it was cool to finally see her in person and hear her voice and everything.  We had a great time just chatting at her place – and I got to meet her little boy.  He’s such a cutie!  She made us a yummy dinner, and then we watched some bad tv before I crashed on her couch with her super sweet kitty.  Yeah, he slept by my head all night.  I loved it.

I felt a little funky Tuesday morning but just figured I was tired.  Um… No.  It turns out that the little boy I’d hung out with in Denver had a stomach bug, and he passed it along to me and most of the other folks I hung out with in Denver.  Ack!  My friend and I made it to IHOP for breakfast (it’s so nice to be able to go on a weekday; it’s impossible to get in during the weekend without waiting for ages), and then she had to take me back to her place.  I pretty much napped off and on the rest of the day while half-watching Gilmore Girls.  *sigh*  I felt a lot better in the evening, and another online friend came over to hang out and have pizza.  She was really fun to meet too.  They were both so sweet to me!  I hope I’ll get to come back to visit again sometime when I’m not sick!  There are tons of cool things to do in Hartford – Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Mark Twain House, Harriet Beecher Stowe House and Library, and, of course, soak up Gilmore Girl-iness.

Wednesday morning I got up super early (6am), feeling MUCH better.  My friend dropped me off at the train station in New Haven, and I took the train to the metro to AirTrain.  And even with all that time, I arrived at T5 just shy of 10:30am, the cutoff to making my 11a flight to Houston.  If I’d printed out my boarding pass, I would’ve been fine – would’ve just headed straight to security and easily made the flight.  But I hadn’t printed out my pass.  I went to the machine to print it out since there was no line for that, but it gave me an error message.  (That’s the second time I’ve tried and failed at using the machines to check myself in on this trip!  Maybe it’s something to do with the AYCJ pass?)  I got in line REALLY just before 10:30, but I didn’t make it to the front of the line until 10:45!  By then the flight had closed and they wouldn’t print a boarding pass for me.  Ugh!  The guy put me on standby for the next flight to Houston – 8:30pm.  Ugh.  He was nice though – got me a big bottle of water and later came by and offered me coffee.

So… I spent the day surfing the ‘net at JFK.  I took AirTrain over to Terminal 4 since I’d read that’s the nicest one in terms of things to do.  There’s an area before security there that has restaurants and shops, so it was worth the visit. 

Four hours before the 8:30p flight, I went to the counter to check in.  The lady was all puzzled as to why I was on standby since AYCJ pass holders shouldn’t be on standby.  Then she tried to say I’d no-showed for the earlier flight and would have to pay the $100 penalty.  I explained how I’d been there and ready to get on my flight but had been refused a boarding pass.  So she printed a pass for me, and I went through security (what a pain that was; there were line jumpers and some TSA disorganization).  Oh, one of the guys gave me an AYCJ pin and the lady gave me an AYCJ luggage tag!  Exciting.  Once I got settled, I just surfed the ‘net, worked on the blog, and waited to get my seat assignment.

 

I’m looking forward to spending the day in Houston tomorrow – I’ll meet two friends and an adorable little girl, have fabulous food, and hopefully visit the MFAH.

The budget:
9-21: $7.25 AirTrain + metro, $3 ice cream, $14 train = $24.25
9-22: $10 tummy meds
9-23: $18.50 train + $7.25 AirTrain + $4.02 lunch + $1.19 postcard =$30.96
Total for 8 days:  $173.67

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

JetBlue #AYCJ: Day five – Denver, Colorado Happy second blogiversary to me!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Osh  |  September 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    Counting down until Saturday!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


