JetBlue #AYCJ: Day five – Denver, Colorado

September 23, 2009 at 5:06 pm 1 comment

Sunday, September 20, was my last day in Denver.  My friend K made some really good french toast, eggs, and bacon for us for breakfast.  Then we did something sad – we walked around looking for her boyfriend’s lost dog.  He’s since been found, so that’s great.  K dropped me off downtown to hang out with D and R – the mom and the adorable little boy from the day before.  The three of us wandered around downtown, checking out the Capitol Building, including getting my picture taken on the mile high step; admiring the sculptures and fountains near the art museum and the art museum building itself; and strolling by Civic Center Park and through the 16th Street Mall.  For those of you with dogs, there’s a super cute store in the mall with everything from dog strollers to costumes.  Oh, we also saw Robot Man.

R was pretty bored with hanging out downtown, so…  We grabbed lunch at McDonald’s and spent the afternoon at Washington Park with our other friend and her two daughters.  It was *such* a pretty day, and the park is really beautiful.  There’s a lake with plenty of birds and rental boats, rental bikes, lots of flowers, and a really terrific playground.  The playground is so extensive that it was hard to keep track the kids from a distance, so we ended up climbing around in it with them.  I think I got a few cute snaps of the kiddos.  I also got to swing a little myself.

We’d hoped to visit the New Belgium brewery on Sunday, but it’s closed on Sundays and Mondays so D just got a sampler pack for us to pass the rest of the afternoon with at her house.  I had a Fat Tire, always a favorite, and 1554, which is my favorite New Belgium beer and just generally one of my favorites.  D also made dinner for some of the weekend gang – vegetable lasagna and fruit.  It was soooo good, and it even had stuff I don’t normally like in it (broccoli, onions, zucchini).  Then it was back to K’s to pack up and head off to the airport for my red-eye to JFK.

I was so sad to leave my Denver friends.  I had such a great time with them, and I wish I could hang out with them all on a regular basis!  Also, Denver was pretty cool, and there are still some things I’d like to do there and nearby – like the New Belgium tour.  Hopefully I’ll be back again before too long.

Budget: Water $1.85 + McDonald’s lunch $3 = $4.85 for the day!  Awesome.  So that’s $108.46 for 5 days.  Yay for friends!

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, TheStates.

TTT: Talk to Strangers JetBlue #AYCJ: Days 6-8 – NYC/CT

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


