NC Eatin’: Perquimans County

September 5, 2009 at 3:15 pm Leave a comment

Wednesday, April 8, 2009
Nicholson House Restaurant
1500 Belvidere Rd
Belvidere, NC 27919

I’d visited a client in Currituck in the early afternoon, so I was ready for a spot of tea to break up the drive back to the Triangle.  I’d read about the Nicholson House online, so I took a pretty big detour so I could head over to Belvidere.  It was an excellent choice.  The Nicholson House was charming, inside and out.

After a bit of a wait and poke around to find a server, I was seated and ordered tea and a scone.  The server warned me that the scones are baked to order and take a while, so I got some hush puppies to tide me over.  The hush puppies were perfect – deep fried, crunchy, and NOT fishy.  And look at the cute plate!

I had time to walk around and take a bunch of pictures while I waited for my scone to arrive.  Finally, it came, and… I didn’t know what to make of it.  It was DELICIOUS… at the edges.  And not cooked in the middle.  Arg.  If I’d been hungrier or had more time, I’d have asked them to throw it back in the oven.  So… I would *highly* recommend visiting the Nicholson House for tea, but only if you have time to wait for a scone.

A bit about Belvidere – it’s an unincorporated town in Perqimans County with a population of less than 900.  Now this is what rural North Carolina is all about!  The homes I saw were adorable and looked well-loved, and the people I encountered were friendly.  It must be a haven for Quakers as there are two meeting houses nearby, the Piney Woods Quaker Meeting and the Up River Friends Meeting.

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

NC Eatin’: Halifax County TTT: Pay for your rental car with a credit card

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


