NC Eatin’: Halifax County

September 2, 2009 at 2:21 pm 3 comments

Tuesday, April 7, 2009
Sharky’s Oyster Bar and Grill
1730 Julian R Allsbrook Hwy
Roanoke Rapids, NC 27870

I passed through Halifax County on my way up to Virginia Beach for a meeting. Since I wasn’t sure when (or if) I’d get a chance to stop, I hadn’t done any research about where to go. Well, I did *some* research – it just wasn’t terribly useful. Most of the restaurants in this area of the state don’t have an online presence. I got stuck in traffic on the interstate near Roanoke Rapids and, since I’d been driving for a while and needed a quick break, I decided it was time for a quick break. Luckily I spotted a sign for the Halifax County Visitor Center when I got off the interstate, so I headed there for a bathroom (clean!) and some advice.

The folks at the visitor center were very nice.  Unfortunately I soon learned why I’d had trouble finding anything other than chain restaurants when I’d searched online.  I asked for a suggestion for a local place with a good dessert or snack, and… the lady with whom I was speaking suggested Ruby Tuesday.  *sigh*  I explained my quest, and she said I had just two choices – Sharky’s and Ralph’s Barbecue.  Ralph’s wasn’t due to open for another half hour and I needed to get back on the road, so I headed over to Sharky’s.

There were a few fun drink choices, and I ordered a fun flavored “martini.”  It was awful according to my tastebuds – very very strongly alcoholic.  I could only manage a few sips.  *sigh*  I was hopeful for the key lime pie.  Well, the pie was good, but it was just your standard mass-produced, frozen pie that you’d normally expect from a chain restaurant. The server was super nice, so I really hope Sharky’s does a good job with lunch and dinner! 

Overall I was disappointed, which is especially sad since it’s the first time I’ve been disappointed on my quest.  I suppose it had to happen some time.  If I get to pass back through Roanoke Rapid, I’ll definitely give Ralph’s a try.  I heard the banana pudding is really good – not to mention the barbecue.

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

TTT: Extras to pack on your next cruise NC Eatin’: Perquimans County

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  April 29, 2010 at 7:44 am

    I stopped on my way from VA to GA. local oysters were out of season so they were importing them from LA at the time. Biggest oysters I’ve ever eaten! Not to mention they shuck em as fast as you can eat em. Also steamed to order: light, medium, heavy, etc. however you like to eat em. I even saw someone order steamed shrimp and they were peeling them for you! Never seen that before. Anytime I drive through Roanoke Rapids from now on, I will definitely be stopping at Sharky’s for some oysters!

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  April 29, 2010 at 7:47 am

    Also, if you go to an Oyster bar and order key lime pie, you’re bound to be disappointed.

    Reply
  • 3. feistync  |  April 29, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Oooh, thanks for the info! That’s great to know that they have good oysters. Unfortunately for me, I hate oysters. 😦

    As I explained above, I was just looking for a local place to grab dessert and was advised that I had only two options, and the other option (Ralph’s Barbecue) wouldn’t be open for a little while. I wasn’t expecting to be wowed by the pie, but I’d at least hoped for a tasty drink since it looked like a bar. Sounds like it *is* the perfect place to go if you’re looking for oysters and beer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


