Exciting plan: JetBlue All You Can Jet for $599

August 17, 2009 at 10:23 am 3 comments

Last week, Jet Blue announced an All You Can Jet Pass for $599.  The deal is that the pass allows you to, with certain restrictions, fly all you can stand on their planes between September 8 and October 8.  Sounds pretty cool, eh?  Well, there are some catches to it.

  1. All flights must be booked at least 3 days in advance.
  2. The passholder must show up for each booked flight, or all other booked flights will be cancelled and no new flights may be scheduled until a $100 no-show fee is paid.
  3. Only one flight per city per day may be booked.
  4. Flights can be cancelled/changed for free, but this has to happen at least 3 days in advance of the flight or you’ll pay the regular change fees.
  5. You can fly to JetBlue’s international destinations and Puerto Rico, but you’ll have to pay the taxes and fees.

So… it’s really only a good deal if you’re able to fly a fair amount within the time period, definitely won’t miss your flights, and plan to stay in the US.  As it turns out, it seems as though I have the time to really utilize this deal, so I booked it on Saturday.

My current plan involves visiting 11 cities in 23 days.  Since I’m unemployed, I have a strict budget of $400 and will be relying on my friends in these cities to schlep me around and feed me (to a certain extent) as well as to allow me to crash at their places.  Fortunately they all have internet access, so I can keep in touch with my friends and family, continue the job search, and blog about my adventures.  I am really glad for the option to change your flights with 3 days notice – that will allow me to scoot back to North Carolina if some lucky employer wants to interview me.  😉

My current itinerary includes: Washington, DC; Denver, CO; New York, NY; Houston, TX; Chicago, IL; Boston, MA; Seattle, WA; Long Beach, CA; Las Vegas, NV; Salt Lake City, UT; and Portland, ME.  This will start in mid-September, so be sure to check back then for updates.

Image from Baltimore Sun.

Entry filed under: JetBlue Tour, Planes, trains, autos, boats.

Apology and explanation for lack of posting TTT: Blogging about your travel plans

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  August 17, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    $400 for 23 days in 11 cities! That is crazy! You should blog about how you spend your money, much like that Rachel Ray show where she had $40 to spend in each city for three meals a day. Tell us down to the penny where your cash goes. That would be pretty cool. That way we can try to go to cool places on the cheap also.

    Reply
  • 2. Ryan  |  August 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I’m doing this too. SO excited! If you want a cool way to log your trip, check out Everlater (this is my proposed itinerary: http://www.everlater.com/ryanwanger/jetblue-all-you-can-jet-month)

    Reply
  • 3. Marc  |  August 20, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    Hey, got your comment at examiner.com. Stay in touch with me during your travels and i’ll write regularly about where you are and what you’re doing.

    Have fun. I’m jealous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


