TTT: Create a bucket list

November 18, 2008 at 11:56 am 2 comments

It’s a little bit morbid, but people ought to think about these things – what do you want to do before you die?  That’s my travel tip this Tuesday.  Make your own bucket list.  Really think about what you might possibly be sad about missing out on if you didn’t do it. 

I’ve had an unwritten bucket list since I was little – I had some educational and career goals, which I’ve taken care of at this point.  I want to live with a few different breeds of cats – a purebred Siamese and a real Maine Coon.  This one is going to be tough since I prefer to adopt strays.  I also wanted to go to Europe, especially London and Paris, and see the places I’d seen in Monet’s paintings.  Those have been sorta taken care, but I have added to my travel list quite a bit.  I want to see Iceland, the Galapagos, Russia, China, India, and so many other places.  Would you be sad if you left this planet without ever having seen Paris?  Is having a child the most important thing in life to you?  Do you want to share the gospel of Jesus with others?  Identify what is most important to yourself and do something about it.  You only get one chance to do it right.

Consider using something public, like 43 Things or Squidoo, to make your list.  Tell you friends.  Hold yourself accountable.  “No day but today.” -Rent

TTT: Travel Tip Tuesday

Entry filed under: Travel Tips. Tags: , , , .

NC Eatin’: Burke County Danger, Triangle shoppers!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa Damian  |  November 23, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I totally agree. I made a list when I first started my blog, less than a year ago, and I made it public as one of my first blog posts:
    http://damiandaily.wordpress.com/2008/01/09/20-things-to-do-before-dying/

    I’ve since met and interviewed one of my favorite authors, Kim Harrison (#5), founded a series of monthly writing workshops (#10), flown an airplane (#11), checked a few more states and countries off on my list (#17), and am working on learning to relax without guilt (#20). I think that somehow writing them down and acknowledging your goals helps to make them more achievable.

    Reply
  • 2. Brian Bartel  |  November 23, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Another public bucket list tool can be found at ReaperList.com, a site that lets you share your life to-do list, meet others with similar goals, and post stories about notable things you’ve already done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


