Triangle restaurant – Jamaica Jamaica

October 5, 2008 at 9:58 am 1 comment

Jamaica Jamaica
4857 NC Highway 55
Durham, NC 27713
(919) 544-1532

You know from my multiple posts about Cool Runnings in Cary that I loooove Jamaican food, especially the patties.  Since I’ve been raving about Cool Runnings, I’ve heard about a few other places in the Triangle to check out.  I finally got to do that this past Wednesday in Durham.

At Cool Runnings, I usually order a patty with jerk sauce and either rice and peas or fried plantains.  I figured I’d give JamaicaX2 a shot at the patty and fried plantains.  Seemed like the obvious choice as the food on the serving line looked pretty unappealing.  The patty was different from those at Cool Runnings – more meat, less spices.  Still good.  The fried plantains were pretty good, but surely those are tough to mess up.  The jerk sauce was very different from what they serve at Cool Runnings – not sweet but tangy and a lot hotter.  Honestly, it was kind of like a cross between barbecue sauce and Tobasco.  I’m not sure I liked it.  I’d still definitely drop in for a patty if I were in the neighborhood and had a craving.

Other places I want to check out: Jamaica Market, Virgil’s Jamaica, and Jamaica Paradise Cafe

Images from Sonia’s Jamaican Cuisine and Food Jamaica.

Entry filed under: Triangle. Tags: , , , , .

Triangle restaurant – Herons NC Eatin’: Gaston County

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rasjoseph  |  April 10, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    ITAL IS VITAL!
    RASPECT!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


