Dinner and a show Las Vegas style

September 15, 2008 at 5:00 pm 4 comments

Yes, yes, I’m posting about my recent travels all out of order.  I feel I simply must share my Vegas dinner and a show with you though.  We had dinner at Origin India and saw Jersey Boys at the Palazzo (extension of the Venetian).

Origin India: My husband, my Vegas BFF and her husband, and I met up with BFF’s sister and her boyfriend at Origin India for dinner on Saturday, September 6.  Since Origin was in the 2007 Best of Vegas and is oft cited as one of the best Indian restaurants in the city, we figured we were in for a treat.  I was excited to learn about Krait Prestige, a champagne lager, from a table tent – what a weird concept!  I ordered it right away and was very pleased; it’s exactly as promised, a combo of beer and champagne.  My husband and I split an order of samosas, which were good but small for the price.  I had Chicken Makhani for my entree, and it was excellent.  It was very well seasoned.  I didn’t care for the beans though.  And the “salad” was a joke (two tiny pieces of lettuce).  My husband wasn’t particularly excited about his lamb dish.  We thought it was a bit overpriced based on the prices on the menu, but we chalked it up to just being Vegas at first.  Then we got the bill.  They had brought out two small dishes of rice for 5 entrees.  Naturally we’d asked for more.  The offense was that they charged for it!  Sure, some Indian places charge for extra rice, but they actually give you a decent amount to start with.  We felt ripped off, and none of us will return.  My Vegas bff highly recommends Tamba for Indian food.  She says it’s at least as tasty and more reasonably priced.

Jersey Boys: This show, like many musicals, should come with a PG-13 rating.  It’s the story of the Four Seasons.  I was familiar with the music but not the story as it was BMT (before my time).  It was really interesting, and the performers did a nice job.  We really couldn’t believe the voice of the guy who played Frankie Valli; his range was incredible.  It was SUCH a challenging part, and I only heard him falter once (unfortunately it was on the last note of the show – oops!  hope that’s not a regular occurrence.  luckily it was very minor).  If you enjoy ’60s music and history or you just like stories about people from New Jersey, you should definitely check it out.  A word of warning – the show includese strong language (hello!  they’re criminals from New Jersey!  it’s basically required) and adult situations (um, well, it is about adults).

Bonus: When we arrived in Vegas, we grabbed a snack at Raising Cane’s.  This was particularly amusing for people familiar with the Carolina Hurricanes.  Raising Cane’s is to chicken fingers as In-n-Out is to hamburgers.  It’s a small chain with only about 50 locations as of 2006, most of which are in Louisiana (per Wiki).  It was pretty good, but it’s no Zaxby’s.  I think it’s hilarious that it took my going to Vegas to find out about a chain that begain in Louisiana.  (I was born in Mississippi, less than an hour from NOLA.)  Anyway, if there’s no Zaxby’s or Bojangle’s around and you can find a Raising Cane’s, I’d definitely recommend it.

Images: Las Vegas Asssoc’n of Black Journalists; Jersey Boys Blog.

Entry filed under: Broadway, TheStates. Tags: , , , , , , .

Richmond – take two (aka food, glorious food) TTT: Thank your flight attendant

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  September 16, 2008 at 9:43 am

    How disappointing about the Indian restaurant. I hate it when they do that. I can’t wait to hear more about your trip!

    Reply
  • 2. Las Vegas Managing Editor  |  October 12, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Found this on Google blog search. Jersey boys is a lot of fun, and doing very well.

    I love Raising Canes! There is one at the outlet mall just about 3 miles south of Mandalay Bay on Las Vegas Blvd (actually fronting the road, not in the mall). Only a few minutes from the rental car drop-off facility as well.

    Ted Newkirk
    Managing Editor
    http://www.accessvegas.com

    Reply
  • 3. Ray Santopietro  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    You may also want to try Gandhi Cuisine (the sister restaurant of Tamba) http://www.gandhicuisine.com Las Vegas Indian Restaurant

    Reply
  • 4. yahoo.com  |  March 14, 2013 at 2:16 am

    “Dinner and a show Las Vegas style | Feisty Tourist” Window
    Shades was indeed a wonderful post and also I really was really satisfied to locate
    the blog. Thanks for the post,Brigette

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


