Then I’m walking in Richmond

September 3, 2008 at 11:56 am 2 comments

I had occasion to visit Richmond for a couple of days about two weeks ago (for work – I just started a new job, and they’re based in Richmond).  Unfortunately, I didn’t get to explore much because of my aching back.  I did, however, get to eat out, so I can tell you about my hotel and a few restaurants.

Images:
1. Skyline (Richmond Area Mensa)
2. Jefferson Davis monument (wiki)
3. Main Street Station, 1971 (wiki)

Omni Richmond Hotel: I thought it was exactly what one would expect from a 4 star hotel, which means I would definitely recommend it if you’re staying in Richmond and it’s in your budget.  The valet is cheaper than parking yourself, so take advantage of that.  Check in was easy.  The room was nice – spacious and clean.  The tv was outdated though; ugh.  The internet access worked well.  Since we’d forgotten to snag one of our wireless cards, they lent us some sort of device so we could get online.  The Starbucks downstairs is handy, and there are tons of restaurants around.  Hopefully I’ll get the chance to report back on the indoor pool and fitness center next time I visit.

Richbrau Taphouse: On Sunday night, my husband and I met a friend for dinner here.  I had the cajun burger with bleu cheese and tried the Griffin Golden Ale.  I thought both were pretty good.  As compared to the other restaurants we checked out that were super close to the hotel, this was one of the most reasonably priced for dinner.  The atmosphere was pub-like, relaxed and mildly dank.  We enjoyed it, and I’m already planning to go back.  I want to sample more of their beer (especially the nut brown), and I want to try their raspberry key lime pie.  How could that possibly be anything other than delish?

Bank: I had lunch at Bank on Monday with some co-workers.  The atmosphere is upscale, but the menu has something for everyone and isn’t terribly overpriced.  I had *blush* a hamburger, and it was good.  (I was in pain!  I needed comfort food!)  I’d go here again just for the ambience.

Tobacco Company: Apparently the Tobacco Company is one of the Richmond institutions, so we had lunch there on Tuesday.  The setting is so cool – an old tobacco warehouse.  My favorite part was the elevator.  I had the tenderloin beef sandwich, which was my favorite meal of the trip.  I don’t see how it couldn’t have been – petite filet + bleu cheese + provolone = awesome.  We share the Mary Martin cheese pie for dessert, which we both really enjoyed.  It’s some sort of cream cheese based concoction, a perfect combination with the raspberry sauce drizzled on the plate.  My husband said it reminded him of the cream cheese layer of four layer delight.  We’d definitely visit this restaurant again.

Richmond seems like such a cool town, and I’m looking forward to my next visit.  I’m actually heading back up there next week, so hopefully I can bring y’all some more info about Richmond then.  My husband doesn’t get to go this time, but I’m looking forward to lots of company from my new co-workers.

Bonus: Check out this post over on Tripso: 10 types of airline passengers – which one are you?  Richmond and Charlotte, both places I’ve visited within the past couple of weeks, get shout-outs.

Entry filed under: Destinations, TheStates. Tags: , , , , .

TTT/News: Coney Island’s Astroland closing Thursday TTT: Amazing restaurant views

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beeshy  |  September 9, 2008 at 11:25 am

    We stayed at an Omni hotel in DC and it was also really nice. For that trip we lucked out though and got a really great rate from Priceline.

    Reply
  • 2. jen  |  October 2, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    oh, i love that you posted a photo of the station. i grew up in virginia, and while i’ve always been drawn to richmond for some reason, sadly i have never spent enough time there. (though i do remember enjoying the tobacco company) whenever i’m driving on 95, i refuse to take the bypass around richmond – only straight through will do for me. i love the view and i love driving by the station (traffic or not!) – the city always looks so gritty and lovely to me (i mean that in a good way!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


