Quick trip to DC

August 11, 2008 at 11:36 am Leave a comment

Last Tuesday I made a whirlwind trip to DC for work – had something to attend to in the morning.  Then I met my friend Robert.  He took me up to the roof of his building, which is one building over from the White House, and I looked around slack jawed.  Yeah, awesome view.  We had lunch, and then I wandered around a bit on my own before heading back to the airport. 


 

We had lunch at The Bombay Club.  It’s an Indian restaurant that gets consistently good reviews.  It’s certainly a lovely atmosphere, and the service was fine.  I ordered the chicken tikka makhni so I could make a fair comparison to the chicken tikka masala I often order at a couple of places around here (Tamarind, Saffron).  I thought it was nicely presented (far better than the local places) and quite good but not that much better than the local places.  Our bill was about $70ish (1 beer, 1 tea, 1 order of samosas, 2 entrees, 2 orders of naan, 1 order of rice, tax and tip).  That’s about $20-30 more than we spend at home.  So…  I’m happy to live in the Triangle.  😉

After lunch, I had a nice time wandering around some of the memorials.  I very clearly remember when I was little that my dad took a nap on the edge of the reflecting pool.  He would NOT do that now.  There’s goose and duck poop all over the edge!  But it is nice to see the birds.

Getting around was super easy.  I flew in and out of Raegan on American.  (No, no baggage fees for me.  I just had a carry on.)  I took the Metro to the District and back.  It was all very quick and smooth.

You can see more of my pictures here.

Entry filed under: Destinations, Planes, trains, autos, boats, TheStates.

News: Staycations all around TTT: MileCards

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


