NC Eatin’: Vance County

August 7, 2008 at 7:26 pm Leave a comment

Thursday, July 10, 2008
Wildflower Cafe
200 South Garnett Street
Henderson, NC

I had to be in Henderson for work that day, and I was fortunate enough to have time to have lunch with a colleague at the Wildflower Cafe.



 

Images from Wiki and Feisty’s personal collection.

Henderson is the county seat and had a population of just over 16,000 in 2000.  My lunch companion told me something about the town’s history.  Paul Rose, a resident of Henderson, started two five and ten cent stores in Charlotte and Henderson with a couple of other fellows.  One of the partners ran into some trouble, so Rose bought out the Henderson store and called it Rose’s.  At its peak, there were 278 stores, bringing lots of executives – and wealth – to Henderson.  In the 1990s, Roses began faltering, and there are now less than 100 stores remaining.  Accordingly, Henderson has seen a definite downturn in its own fortunes.  Now it’s just a charming tiny town that’s still too far from Raleigh to become a bedroom community.  As the Triangle expands ever outwards, there’s still hope that Henderson won’t become a ghost town.  The only concern is that it might become another Cary – lovely to those who didn’t grow up there but completely foreign to those who did.

Anyway, on to lunch.  There were way too many tempting options.  Since I was working, I decided I’d best choose something that would fill me up and that I wouldn’t make a mess of.  That would be a toasted sandwich, turkey and swiss to be precise.  That sounds like it would be pretty boring, right?  Wrong – it was delicious.  I’m not sure what they did to make it so much better than a regular sandwich, but it was very good.  The chips were also good – not stale.  I hate how often I come across stale chips at places like that.  I guess Wildflower Cafe has enough people going through it that they’re able to keep them fresh.

Henderson is an adorable small town.  While I was there, several people greeted my lunch companion.  It was really fun.  I’m not sure I’d truly enjoy living in that kind of atmosphere, but it was wonderful to experience it for a day.

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

TTT: Join your CC roll call Pollution in China

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


