NC Eatin’: McDowell County

July 25, 2008 at 7:48 am 1 comment

Monday, May 26, 2008
Switzerland Cafe
9440 Highway 226A
Little Switzerland, NC

It’s been a while since I’ve shared a county visit – and it’s been a while since I actually accomplished this one.  Oops!  We went to Asheville for Memorial Day weekend, and I insisted that we take a detour on our way home to have lunch in Little Switzerland.

Growing up in Asheville when gas wasn’t quite so expensive, my parents and I regularly spent Saturdays or Sunday afternoons on the Blue Ride Parkway and the places it would take us.  Little Switzerland, at mile post 334, was one of those places.  I vaguely remembered that there was an inn, a few little strips of adorable shops, and the Emerald Village gemstone mine.  My friend Ami went to the real Switzerland a couple years ago, and I remember seeing this one picture from her trip that looked SO much like what I remembered of Little Switzerland – a rock front building with a neat roof.  On this trip, I really wanted to find that spot so I could show her.  Alas, I believe that place has a new facade.  It was still a successful trip.

We had lunch at the Switzerland Cafe.  I figured I’d get a slightly more realistic feel for the locals from this place rather than the Little Switzerland Inn.  It’s an unassuming little place on a bad curve (then again, most of the curves up there are pretty rough!).  Despite appearances, it had a fairly sophisticated menu.  We shared a nice cup of chili as an appetizer, and I had a wonderful sweet corn quiche.  Jason liked his barbeque pretty well.  We then stuffed ourselves silly over a couple of fantastic desserts.  Oh, Switzerland Cafe has beer too.  I tried Highland Brewing Company’s Shining Rock Lager there.  Very nice, as was the service.

After lunch, we poked around a bit.  I found some old blue hardback books (a collection for decorating that I’m working on) at the adorable Little Switzerland Book Exchange.  While selecting my books, I was excited to see a sign that said part of the funds from my purchase would go to an animal rescue fund.  My husband was less than pleased when he heard it was for possum rehab, but I thought that was even more spectacular.

I would highly recommend the area to those looking for a mountain getaway.  There are at least two adorable places to eat and the hilarious bookstore to frequent, and it’s so close to the Parkway.  Also, the views, when you can find them for all the trees, are spectacular.  It’s definitely a tourist destination and has a tiny population, but that’s understandable when you drive on those curves – whew!  A few more pics, including the obligatory county sign pic, are available here.

Entry filed under: NC, NCEatin.

Triangle shopping: Verses jeans News: Balloons over Central Park

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenni  |  March 3, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Love the Little Switzerland Inn – it’s always where we lunch when we are traversing the Parkway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


