TTT: Make scrapbooking easier

July 1, 2008 at 7:53 am Leave a comment

My travel tip this Tuesday is to do a little planning ahead to make scrapbooking your trip later a bit easier.  I have four steps to make sure my memories are well-preserved.

padfolio accordion folders travel organization        travel scrapbook

Antigua scrapbook scrapbooking travelLondon England Winston Churchill Cabinet War Rooms scrapbook scrapbooking

Dominica Kubuli beer scrapbooking scrapbookCarnival Valor luggage tag scrapbook scrapbooking

Montserrat Spain scrapbook scrapbookingMontserrat Spain scrapbook scrapbooking travel

Journaling: The first part of the plan is to keep a journal.  You can keep it simple, basically listing where you went for future reference, or you can go all out with details.  The choice is up to you, but you’ll definitely be better prepared for scrapping when you have notes to go by.  I try really hard to keep up with this while I’m on the trip.   It makes for some nice down-time, and my memory is a bit fresher.

Save everything: Pick up brochures, keep your ticket stubs, and don’t lose your daily newsletter (if on a cruise).  I also like to peel labels off of bottles, snag cocktail napkins and stirrers (the ones at the Tavern on the Green in NYC are especially fun), and keep business cards.  Maybe you won’t use everything, but, gosh, you’ll be so grateful to have saved it when you do.

Get (and stay) organized: Get an accordian-style file folder.  Label each folder slot with a day/port.  This helps me before, during, and after the trip.  I’ll print out my notes for the day/port to stick in there in advance (e.g., “Wear trainers in Athens”) as well as any reservation info.  That keeps things easily accessible before and during the trip so I can check on things.  As I gather things for scrapbooking along the way, I stick whatever I have compiled in the appropriate day so that I’ll know from where it came.

Take lots of pictures: Don’t be afraid to take way too many pictures.  On our last trip, we took about 1700 shots and are still relying on friends and family to fill in some gaps!  I will even take pictures I never intend to print.  For example, I’ll take pictures of signs for sites we visit, the exterior of places where we eat, and sometimes even menus.  It helps me remember how much things cost and where things were – for advising other travelers and for my own interest.

Hope this tips are helpful to you!  If you have any more, please post them here.

Images from US Imprints, Tropical Scrapbooking, and Feisty’s personal collection (please pardon the cropping; I don’t have a 12×12 scanner).

Entry filed under: Travel Tips. Tags: , , , , .

A sneak peak at Mykonos Sneak peak at Corfu

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


