Big Boss Brewery

April 24, 2008 at 7:40 am Leave a comment

Every second Saturday of the month at 2 pm, Big Boss Brewery, a brewery in Raleigh, opens up for a brewery tour.  After lunch in Franklin County, we met up with some friends to check it out.  I had a hard time hearing the first part of the tour due to people talking instead of listening, but the rest of the tour was neat.  The best part, however, were the free samples.  Upon entry, they give each person two tickets, which are redeemable for two beers.  They had 3 kinds available for sampling: Bad Penny, a nut brown ale; Hell’s Bell, a Belgian blond; and Angry Angel, a Kolsch style ale.  My dh doesn’t like beer, so I got to try all three.

I tried the two lighter beers first.  They were pretty good, but not something I’d necessarily buy on a regular basis.  Then I finally tried Bad Penny.  I was VERY excited because it reminds me of my new favorite beer, Southern Pecan (which I discovered on my Easter trip to NOLA).  It’s nutty and a bit sweet, but it’s not too sweet.  We tried to buy a couple six packs of the Bad Penny at the special brewery tour price ($7.50), but they were sold out.  Bummer.  I didn’t have too tough of a time finding it at a grocery store near the house though, so I’m all set.  For now anyway.

Recommendation: If you like beer and are in NC, look for Big Boss’s Bad Penny.  Visit the brewery for a tour if you’re around on the second Saturday of the month.  Otherwise, consider visiting their taproom upstairs to try their seasonal brews as well as their standards.  If you’re in MS/LA, look for Southern Pecan.

Entry filed under: Triangle.

NC Eatin’: Franklin County Events in the Triangle tomorrow

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


