Dinner and a Show: Joe’s Place and Wedding Singer

April 9, 2008 at 7:16 am Leave a comment

March 27 was date night again for my husband and me – Joe’s Place and The Wedding Singer.  I’ve been so busy that I’m just now getting around to posting about it.

Images from me and Wedding Singer.

We met at Joe’s Place, a restaurant in downtown Raleigh we’ve been meaning to try for ages simply because of the neon “RESTAURANT” sign.  It’s a cute dive – tons of neon beer signs, mismatched dishes, and a very simple menu.  I got a sandwich and fries, pretty boring since they were out of the kind of bread I wanted but good nonetheless.  I also had a bottle of one of my fav cheap beers – Rolling Rock.  My husband had roast beef with carrots, apple sauce, and cream corn.  We shared a piece of homemade chocolate cake for dessert.  Everything was reasonably priced with the all-you-can-eat veggie plate being the best deal.  More pictures, including a few of the menu are here (I couldn’t find the menu anywhere when we were in the planning stages).

Wedding Singer was… well, I have to be honest.  I didn’t like it, and I understand why it didn’t last a year on Broadway.  It pretty much followed the movie, of which I wasn’t a huge fan.  We weren’t entranced by the characters, music, or choreography, and, frankly, we toyed with the idea of leaving at intermission.  I was, however, excited to see Ashley Anderson (“Emotional Sandy” from Grease! You’re the One that I Want!) in the chorus.  Now if only I could see Ashley Spencer (she’s in Hairspray right now)…  Anyway, I guess I’d pretty much only recommend it to people who liked the movie.  Then again, I’m pretty anti-80s fashion/music, so that may have something to do with it.  Ooh – no, apparently I’m not alone in having found this show lackluster.  Have you seen this show?  What did you think?

Entry filed under: Broadway, NC, Triangle.

TTT: Don’t leave home without… Crescent City Classic

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


