TTT: Read a book!

April 1, 2008 at 7:11 am Leave a comment

My travel tip this Tuesday is to read a book.  Not just any book, but a book set in the place where you’re going.  This tip is especially helpful for those who have a hard time getting excited about a particular place or about traveling in general.  If the book is done well, it’ll help you get a feel for the place you’re going.  For example, I know my husband enjoyed our trip to Rome back in 2004 infinitely more since he’d just read Dan Brown’s Angels & Demons.

My story: Back in 1993, I read a Christopher Pike book, The Immortal.  (I was really into Christopher Pike from middle school through high school; I still think those are great YA books.)  The book was about these two girls on vacation in Mykonos, Greece.  They visited Delos and discovered a link to Greek deities.  Ever since I read this book, I’ve wanted to visit Mykonos and Delos.  Finally, this summer I will.  (Note: If you want to read the book, don’t read the Amazon reviews; there are some spoilers.)  In preparation for this whirlwind trip (Amsterdam, Venice, Athens, Olympia, Mykonos/Delos, Corfu, Split), I’ll be reading several books.  For example:

Images from Amazon, Amazon, and Amazon.

Entry filed under: Travel Tips.

PSA: Triangle restaurant shout out Venice: “The City of Falling Angels”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


