Jamaican me crazy!

March 3, 2008 at 6:06 pm 2 comments

We met some friends for dinner at Cool Runnings in Cary on Friday night.  I had put it on my list of restaurants to try, and it turned out that it is one of Suzanne’s favorites.  Yay!  This was my first time at a Jamaican restaurant!  I assumed I’d get jerk chicken.  Then Suzanne and Jamie said their favorite things are the patties.  They said they normally order the patties and then a side of rice.  I talked to the waitress a bit about the patties, wondering if there was some sort of sauce for them.  (I adore condiments.)  She said you’re not really supposed to eat them with sauce, but she likes jerk sauce with hers.  She also said that a lot of people put the patties into cocoa bread. 

I was game, so I ordered a beef patty ($2.50), cocoa bread ($2.00), and rice with peas (coconut milk rice with red beans, $3.75?).   She also brought me a side of jerk sauce.  It was ohmigosh good!  So a Jamaican patty isn’t just a patty of spiced meat.  It’s actually a pastry, like a turnover, filled with meet and spices.  Delish!  The cocoa bread was also wonderful – soft and slightly sweet (not as sweet as Hawaiian bread).  It seemed a bit weird to me to put something that has a crust into bread, but boy was it good!  The jerk sauce was a nice touch too in my opinion.  And oh the rice!  The coconut milk rice was sweet!  I’ve never had sweet rice before.  I always love beans, so the combination seemed perfect to me.

I also tried Jason’s jerk pork.  He had me try it withouth the sweet sauce, and he was right – it totally didn’t need it.  It was tender and had a great flavor.  I’d definitely consider getting the jerk chicken sometime.  *sigh*  I can’t wait for my next visit – snd yes, next time will be SOON!

The N&O ran an article on this place back in 2006.

Entry filed under: Triangle.

Destination Friday: Warwick Castle TTT: Eating on the cheap

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


