President’s Day Weekend Run Down

February 18, 2008 at 1:31 pm Leave a comment

My bff Megan came to visit for the weekend, so we managed to do some serious eating around the Triangle, visiting spots in Chapel Hill, Raleigh, and Morrisville.


Chapel Hill:  On Friday, we met up with her friend John and headed for Jujube, an “almost Asian” restaurant which is the subject of a Chowhound scandal.  I had the blanched noodles with spicy yellow chicken curry, and it was fabulous!  They have a pretty extensive wine list and a fun beer list.  I enjoyed the Ommegang Hennepin Belgian style Amber Ale.  I wish they’d move to Cary so I could easily go there more often.

We also stopped in at the new gelato place on Franklin, Sugarland.  The eclairs there looked really good but probably not worth $2.75 to me.  Although they allegedly have “24 authentic Italian flavors made fresh daily,” they had maybe half a scoop of chocolate, 3 scoops of Creamsicle (I don’t remember if that’s the real name of the flavor, but that’s what it’s going for), and a fair amount of Mexican chocolate and lemon.  We tried the few available flavors and thought they were good but decided to move on down the road to the Yogurt Pump.  We’ve been there twice now since we graduated, and we’re pretty thankful we didn’t discover it while we were there.  They have some very tasty fro yo with a pretty good selection (6 flavors in the machines and a few more in larger containers).  I had chocolate peanut-butter.  Good stuff.

Raleigh: So, umm… *blush*  we went to Lilly’s Pizza for dinner on Saturday.  Yes, I went there twice in three days.  Megan and I split the Hawaiian Punch pizza.  I swapped the Canadian bacon for pepperoni and loved the combo of that with pineapple and Mandarin oranges.  I enjoyed a bottle of Warsteiner, a German lager.

Morrisville: As my regular readers know, I’m just mad about Saffron, so we had dinner there on Sunday.  We couldn’t make the buffet (church let out a bit later than I expected), so we ordered 3 different things and shared them.  We started with the vegetable samosas and then shared chicken tikka masala, saffron chicken, and saag paneer.  I loved all of the food and liked my Kingfisher beer pretty well.  Then we headed over to Goodberry’s to pick up some mint chocolate chip (flavor of the day) for dessert.

Album is here.

Entry filed under: Triangle.

HOLY CATS! Dinner & a Show, Valentine’s Edition Is travel to Cuba in the near future?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


