Asheville – The Corner Kitchen

February 11, 2008 at 1:10 pm Leave a comment

I recently came across a big bottle of Three Philosophers (a limited edition strong ale brewed by Ommegang in the Belgian style) at Trader Joe’s, and I finally got to crack that open last night (with my nachos – yum).  It’s a complex beer for me – all kinds of flavor, cherry and nutty.  Very carbonated – the beer world’s version of champagne.  Anyway, cracking open this particular beer reminded me that I haven’t yet shared my visit to The Corner Kitchen in Asheville, the first place I found Three Philosophers.

 

My birthday tradition with my parents is lunch and a movie.  When I was younger, hardly anywhere was open on Christmas Eve, so we usually ended up eating at McGuffey’s at their old location up on the hill off of Tunnel Road.  Since I learned about Chowhound and have expanded my pallet (and since more restaurants in Asheville are open on Christmas Eve now), I decided it was time to try something new.  I read up on cool Asheville restaurants I hadn’t yet tried and discussed them with my mom. 

TCK offers “pan-American” cuisine, so we were certain my dad would find something he’d like.  We were early for our reservation, so we sat at the bar for a bit.  I thought their wine list was pretty good and found a glass I liked.  For lunch, I decided to go with a cheeseburger and fries.  Yes, I know – boring, right?  I think I’ve had a burger for lunch on my birthday almost every year I’ve gotten to celebrate with my parents, so I decided to continue that tradition.  I don’t remember what kind of soup they had, but Jason ordered some and it was delicious.  The burger (by the time I actually got to eat it) was very good.  As you must have guessed, I also enjoyed my beer, Three Philosophers, as well.

We had a rough time with the service.  Although our server was very sweet, she was not very speedy.  After waiting for at least 5 minutes for her to bring ketchup back to me so I could eat, I finally went to the bar and got the bar tender to bring some for me.  I know the place was packed (I absolutely recommend reservations if you go here), but our server would disappear for ages and then never look at us or check on us when she was around.  Sheesh!

We had a good time and enjoyed our food, but I can’t say I’m itching to go back.  I’d probably return only if I happened to be in the area and the place wasn’t very busy.  There are so many other new (or at least new to me) restaurants in the area that I need to try!  And if I want an old favorite for comfort food, I’m much more likely to hit Early Girl or Tupelo Honey downtown or Black Mountain Bistro.

Entry filed under: NC.

Disney: Day Three, Hollywood Studios TTT: Disney Tips

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


