Disney: Day Three, Hollywood Studios

February 8, 2008 at 4:08 pm 1 comment

Did you know that MGM Studios is now called Hollywood Studios?  I learned this a couple weeks before our trip while poking around on some of the dozens of Disney message boards.  Anyway, we visited Hollywood Studios on Monday.  It was by far my least favorite of the three parks, but I still thought it was great.

Where & What We Ate
Breakfast – We headed straight for Starring Rolls when we entered the park.  Keith is a big fan of their coffee, and they have nice pastries.  Jason and I shared a cinnamon roll (really good but not as good as the ones from Main Street Bakery in MK), a blueberry muffin (just like the one at Main Street Bakery – excellent), and a chocolate croissant (yummy).

Lunch – We grabbed lunch at the ABC Commissary.  For some reason, Jason and I ended up in the slowest line again (even tho’ it appeared to be the shortest!).  If you eat here, be prepared to wait a while for a burger.  Those apparently take the longest.  The burger and fries were fine.  I’d rather have had McDonald’s though.  *le sigh*

Snack – We’d heard a lot about the ’50s Prime Time Cafe, so we stopped there for milkshakes.  I got the peanut butter and jelly shake (they also have chocolate, vanilla, and maybe strawberry).  It was good, but I never tasted the jelly.  Keith also ordered the pb&j shake and only tasted malt.  It took eons to get our shakes, so we have to assume they were really busy and messed his up.  Next time I visit, I’d like to actually eat here and be told by a “mom” to finish my veggies.  A fellow at the bar with us recommended the pot roast.

What We Did/Saw
High School Musical Pep Rally – As you can tell from my previous post, I really love HSM (and HSM2).  I was very excited to go to the pep rally, so I rushed over to catch the 10:35 am show right after breakfast.  It was really cute!  The performers don’t pretend to be the characters from the movies, but they are costumed as though they could have been in the movies and they sing songs from the movies.  I love how they got the little ones involved, and it was all I could do not to join in the dancing to “We’re All in This Together.”

Tower of Terror – My friends are stinkin’ brilliant.  We snagged FastPasses to this first thing (Keith ran to get them while we got breakfast).  When we got there, the line was really short (20 mins), so we just hopped in the regular line.  We then got FastPasses forRock ‘n’ Roller Coaster and got in the ToT FastPass line.  We road twice in an hour!  So the ride is cute – reminded me a little of the Haunted Mansion at first, but then you get in the elevator and zoom up and down.  And scream.  A lot.  It’s so fun!  After the first ride, a little kid was crying, “I wanna go home!”  Aww – so yeah, this one’s a little wild.

Star Tours – This ride is really cute.  It’s fun to see R2D2 and C-3PO and whatever that giant thing outside is called.  The ride is fairly mild – you just sit in a chair and get jerked around.  It reminded me of a smoother version of Body Wars (really old ride at Epcot that’s closed now).

Muppet Vision 3D – This is another really adorable 3D movie.  This time we got great seats – the middle of the middle.  The only thing that was annoying was that we waited 20 mins in the room just outside the theatre – boring!  I felt tricked – I thought we’d be going right in to the theatre once we were in that room.  The other bad thing about the Muppets – I always feel so sorry for Kermit for having to deal with Miss Piggy.  The bunny, Bean, was adorable.  And I loooved when the characters popped up as Animatronics to add to the story.

Lights, Motor, Action! Stunt Show – This show will make any guy’s top ten list (and probably lots of chicks’ lists too).  The drivers did a lot of very neat tricks – be prepared to be surprised!  My tip for this one – grab lunch and carry it in; eat while you wait so you’ll get a good seat.  Most of the seats are good, but I’d hate to be behind a column.  Jason took a few videos of the show, which are available here.

Rock ‘n’ Roller Coaster – My advice is to get a FastPass to this one as soon as you get into the park if you aren’t planning to spend a whole day at the park.  I think we got our FastPass before noon, and it wasn’t until 3-4 pm.  We got there at 3:30, and the FastPass line was 35-40 minutes long!  This wasn’t good since we needed to leave at 4 pm to catch the bus to the hotel and then back to the airport.  We decided it wasn’t worth potentially waiting in line 25 minutes and then having to leave, so we gave our passes to someone at the end of the regular line (70 minutes!).  That family was pretty excited.  Oh well.  I’ve ridden cool roller coasters before.  We enjoyed poking around in the shops, people watching, and finishing our milkshakes instead.

More pics are here.

Entry filed under: TheStates.

Disney World: Day Two, Magic Kingdom Asheville – The Corner Kitchen

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kosar's Mama  |  February 11, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    It sounds like you had a blast! I too dream of going to Disney World before I reach 30. Technically, I went when I was three but I don’t think that counts since the only thing I remember is a submarine which isn’t there anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


