NC Eatin’: Forsyth County

January 31, 2008 at 4:38 pm 3 comments

Thursday, January 24, 2008
Old Salem Tavern
736 South Main
Winston-Salem, NC 27101

No, I haven’t given up on my quest to eat in all 100 counties yet!  It’s just been a while since I have had the chance to go somewhere new.  Actually, the Old Salem Tavern isn’t new to me.  My parents and I visited Old Salem several times when I was little; I auditioned for NC Governor’s School at Salem College (ended up at the east campus, which was then at St. Andrews in Laurinburg); and I nearly attended Salem College for undergrad.  I’ve also met my parents there as a half-way point a couple of times when we get desperate for each other but can’t commit to a whole weekend.

The Food 
Growing up, I always ordered the hamburger (we usually had lunch there and drove back to Asheville in the evening).  I’d stuff myself with mini-pumpkin muffins while waiting and scarf down their gingerbread topped with lemon ice cream.

Although the Tavern hasn’t changed, I’ve grown up – at least a little bit!  I was still full from lunch (Whole Foods buffet – yum!), so I ordered onion soup (I know – I hate onions) and caramelized pear salad.  I still gobbled some pumpkin muffins, but I washed them down with Pilsner Urquell instead of Coke.

The soup was amazing.  It was topped with a thick layer of cheese and bread, which is my requirement for onion soup and the only reason I like it.  My mom says their onion soup is the best she’s ever had, and I’d believe it.  Yum!  The salad was surprisingly good – the caramelized pear was just ripe enough, the pistachios were just the right amount of crunch, and blue cheese obviously goes with everything.  The key lime vinaigrette was a nice touch.  I’m just sad I was too full for dessert!

The service was very good as well, though I felt a little guilty since we were their only customers.  I’m so glad they stayed open!  I love that place and can’t wait to return.

You might notice that my dining companions are Ken Mosher and Tom Maxwell of Squirrel Nut Zippers fame.  They are great guys and were excellent company.  I won’t tell you how I came to have dinner with them – I’m attempting to keep my professional and personal life separate from my blog as much as possible.

About the Area
Winston is the 4th largest city in the state, sometimes referred to as “Camel City” for the ever-present tobacco industry.  In addition to Salem College, it’s also the “new” home of Wake Forest University.  It’s also the home to the NC School of the Arts

If you’re visiting, check out the Reynolda Gardens and see what’s on at the Reynolda House Museum of American Art in addition to Salem.  I can vouch for the Embassy Suites as a good place to stay (standard ES, good location), but just make sure to bring some cash for parking downtown.

Sorry for the stinky sign picture – I nearly missed getting this!  Hopefully I can fix this up in Photoshop later.

To make up for that, here’s a nice one of the skyline from Wiki.

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

Today is the day: US border crossing rules change Destination Friday: Windsor, Stonehenge, & Salisbury

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


