RENT is closing

January 30, 2008 at 8:28 am 2 comments

RENT is closing on Broadway on June 1, 2008.  If you haven’t yet seen it, make your plans now.

This show has touched millions, including me.  I remember when I first heard about it back in 1996.  An old friend told me the story and about how awesome it was.  Being a big fan of musicals, I ran out and got the original cast recording ASAP.  I listened, cried, and repeated those two steps about a million times.  Heck, I even named my car, a Subaru station wagon, “Roger” because it was kind of wimpy and on its last legs but still a good car.

Image from The Theatre Addict. 

My first two RENT experiences were the touring companies.  I saw it in Atlanta in 1997 or 1998, where I giggled over the people who left because they found it too offensive.  I saw it again in Charlotte a few years later.  Interestingly, Charlotte declined the option to host the show during the first tour.

As a poor college student in NC/SC, I didn’t start frequenting NYC until 2004, so I didn’t really have the opportunity to see it on Broadway until then.  Having seen it twice, I wanted to use that first trip – and the next couple too – to see shows I hadn’t seen before.   Besides, I had the movie to comfort me as of its release in November 2005.  (I went to see it the day after Thanksgiving in Arkansas with some family.  We all cried – and loved it.)

Finally, I was ready to see it on Broadway when I heard that Adam Pascal and Anthony Rapp were returning for six weeks this past fall.  I got the best tickets I could find (not being willing to pay anything other than what Ticketmaster charges) and flew in for an overnight visit with my friend Robert.

As the lights dimmed, the Nederlander was abuzz.  Then silence.  When Adam and Anthony appeared, they had to wait to begin – the whole theatre errupted in screams of excitement.  Although a little old to be playing Mark and Roger, they still had the magic.  No one does those roles like they do.  The rest of the cast we saw was pretty amazing too.  (I only wish Tamyra Gray hadn’t been so inconsistent as Mimi.)  I wish the stage door hadn’t been a mob scene so I could’ve gotten their autographs!

Having seen Adam and Anthony, I’ll take a little break from RENT – they were just too good to be topped, so I need to let the memory fade before I see the show again (else I’ll be VERY disappointed).  If you don’t catch this show before it closes on Broadway, please, see it somewhere.  The way it captures the early and mid-1990s in NYC is fascinating, the love it shares is amazing, and the music is fun.

P.S. The remixed version in London sounds interestingClosing February 2.

Entry filed under: TheStates.

Krispy Kreme Challenge Today is the day: US border crossing rules change

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth @ Elizabeth Anne Designs  |  January 30, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    boo! now i *have* to go to NY before June!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica Brogan  |  February 10, 2008 at 11:29 am

    ohmygosh. too sad. this is my alltime favorite show. i wont be able to make it, but it will live on, if only in car sing alongs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


