Raleigh – date night

January 4, 2008 at 9:31 am Leave a comment

Last night Jason and I saw Spelling Bee as part of our Broadway Series South season.  This is one of my favorite musicals right now – it’s just so sweet and cute!  I saw it in Boston in October 2006 and in New York in August 2007; oddly, it was the same cast!  So this was my first time to see it with a different cast.  They did a wonderful job (although I preferred the cast I saw in Boston/NY – Stanely Bahorek as Leaf Coneybear was just waaay too cutely awkward and Jared Gertner was an amazingly annoying William Barfee), and I would highly recommend catching the tour to anyone who hasn’t yet seen the show.  Note: It’s closing on Broadway on January 20, 2008!  Catch it while you can; it’s not to be missed.

Before the show, we finally had dinner at Raleigh Times Bar.  I was especially interested in going here because of the history and the impressive offering of Belgian beers.  I had a burger (delicious, far superior to the burger at Hard Times Cafe – though you pay for that difference) and a couple draft beers.  I ordered the $1 glass of PBR just to try it (yucky water).  I tried the De Koninck Amber (pretty good, nutty, not quite as good as Stella to me).  I have two cautions to offer those who visit RTB: (1) Your sandwich/burger comes with a tiny pasta salad instead of fries; it’s plain but good; fries are $2.50 and very good.  (2) The Reuben, according to my husband, isn’t made with corned beef – it was roast beef but still good.  Even if you don’t order the fries, you won’t leave hungry; the sandwiches are pretty large.  We agreed we would definitely enjoy visiting RTB again.

Image from Boston Globe (Joan Marcus).

Entry filed under: Triangle.

News for Traveling Photographers Destination Friday: London, part 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


