TTT*: Bring the right camera

December 18, 2007 at 10:25 am 3 comments

My recommendation for today is to bring the right camera for what you want and what you’re doing.  When you’re going on a trip, you need to consider what types of photography you want, how much weight you’re willing to carry for that photography, how willing you are to learn how to use the functions of a new camera, and how much you’re willing to pay.  For our next big trip (Venice and Greece!), I want to have two types of cameras – a serious camera for taking pictures of the fantastic land and cityscapes we’ll see and a compact camera for snagging quick shots of my friends and family around the ship (we’re cruising).

I bought the Olympus Stylus 720 about a year and a half ago.  This camera is shockproof (withstand a 5 ft drop), waterproof (10 ft for up to an hour), and has digital image stabilization (I call this the shaky hand mode).  The zoom is fairly awful (3x optical, 5x digital), but it does have 7.1 megapixels.  It also has a movie mode that is fun for the occasional 2 minute video.  I bought it because our old digi cam just wasn’t producing the kind of pictures I wanted.  I picked this particular camera with my next trip – a week in Puerto Rico – in mind.  We had a blast snorkeling with it.  If you enjoy active vacations and like the idea of taking your camera underwater without having to buy an expensive underwater housing, I highly recommend this camera.  It’s also handy as my everyday camera; because it’s so compact, I keep it in my handbag most of the time.

For Christmas/my birthday, we selected the Nikon D40X, a digital SLR with 10.2 MP.  We have a really nice film SLR, but I’m a spoiled brat.  I can’t stand carrying around film or not knowing whether the picture I just shot was what I wanted.  This was a tough choice for me to make – I was very interested in the Canon Digital Rebel XTi, but I’m cheap.  The Nikon was $100 less with the standard lens, and Best Buy had a sale – $100 off if we bought another lens.  I couldn’t resist, so we have the standard 18-55mm lens as well as the 55-200mm zoom lens.  Based on my research, the Canon has more functionality and the Nikon is easier to use.  I’m not particularly camera-savvy, so I think the Nikon will be the perfect starter camera for me.  We’re going to take a class or do a lot of reading so we can learn how to properly use all the features.

There’s a gap in our camera ownership.  We don’t have a compact point-and-shoot that has a good zoom.  If that’s what you’d prefer, I recommend checking out the reviews and search function at DPReview.  I think I might like the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3 if I were in the market for this type of camera.

My bff Elizabeth has a fancy ultra-high resolution Nikon Coolpix with an amazing zoom.  This line of cameras combines a lot of the best features of other types of cameras – amazing zoom, small (but definitely not compact), great resolution.  It’s a fixed-lens DSLR – more compact than full DSLRs but without the option to swap out lenses.  I think this is another great (but expensive!) option for people to consider.  And, honestly, if E loves it, I’m sure I’d love it too.  She has great taste. 😉

*TTT = Travel Tip Tuesday

Entry filed under: Travel Tips.

Honeymoon destination: Paris Beers of the World

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rebekah @ elizabeth anne designs  |  December 18, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    We’re looking for a great camera now (zoom, mp most important). Thanks for passing on the Nikon review!

    Reply
  • 2. ally  |  December 18, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    hey the d40x is a great camera! i have a rebel xt that i love. almost got the d40… it was a tough decision. nikon dslr’s are great. you’ll love it.

    Reply
  • 3. paigekepple  |  June 1, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    There are dozens of digital SLR cameras on the market today; however, there are few clear or consistent guides to which ones are the best quality and most reliable. Well, Which Digital SLR Camera? has personally tested and evaluated these digital SLR cameras so to give you an easy and simple recommendation of which ones you should choose and which ones you should avoid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


