TTT*: Pack light!

December 11, 2007 at 2:41 pm Leave a comment

I am usually awful at this, but I highly recommend packing light.  My favorite packing experience was when I went to New York in August with just a small backpack.  I had a couple of changes of clothes, toiletries, and my notes on my plans for the weekend along with my confirmation numbers.  I felt so light!  I didn’t have to wait for my luggage or worry that it didn’t make it, and it was so easy to just take the bus into Manhattan.

Accepting that packing light is the way to go is the first step.  The second step is how to do it.  There are so many tricks!  Pack just a carry-on if at all possible; pack clothing that can be worn multiple times, that goes with multiple other items (it’s easiest if you go brown OR black themed so you only need one handbag!), and that is fairly anti-wrinkle; get travel sized toiletries (I keep a toiletries bag packed all the time so I don’t even have to think about it); keep shoes to a minimum; wear any bulky items onto the plane; etc.  Rick Steves recommends, “Pack for the best scenario and simply buy yourself out of any jams.” 

Don’t forget to leave room for souvenirs though.  I like to pack an extra bag if I’m going somewhere I know I’ll want to bring back more than postcards.

P.S.  If you can sit on your luggage like this and it’s not your biggest bag, you’re probably not packing light!  😉

*Travel Tip Tuesday

Entry filed under: Travel Tips.

Destination Friday: Iceland Iceland – two more things

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


