Travel Tip Tuesday

December 4, 2007 at 1:18 pm Leave a comment

There’s no way I can travel enough to have a new experience to share every week, so I think I’ll try to share a travel tip each Tuesday.  I might tell you about a website I like, a product to make your travels nicer, or a recommendation about a particular place.

This week, I choose Hertz NeverLost.  If there’s any way you can stomach the cost or legitimately charge it to someone else, get it!  This system is *very* good at finding the best routes and telling you when to turn.  If you miss a turn, don’t worry!  It’ll re-calculate your route and show you how to turn around or provide you with an alternative.  It also makes your trip safer by eliminating the need to fumble with written or printed directions or pull that atlas out of your seat pocket.  Unfortunately, at least most of the other rental car companies haven’t quite managed to match the NeverLost system.  I specifically recall a very frustrating time I had with another GPS device (maybe Dollar or Budget about 2 years ago) – I had to hold it out the window at stop lights for it to be able to find a signal, and even that took a long time.  Needless to say, I learned my lesson: not all navigation systems are equivalent! 

If you know of another RELIABLE nav system offered by another rental car company, please let me know.  I’d love to have more options.

Along this same vein, don’t be an idiot.  Having a nav system does not mean that you should stop thinking.

Entry filed under: Travel Tips.

Meme Traveling in Style: Private Jet Tours

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


