Raleigh stuff

November 30, 2007 at 10:09 am 1 comment

Landscapes from the Age of Impressionism at the NC Art Museum: I went to see this on the Friday after Thanksgiving with my parents and a friend.  It was definitely worth the visit.  Monet is one of my favs, but I didn’t really care for the ones they had for the exhibit.  (The one in the permanent collection is good though!)  I liked the Caillebotte and Renoir, but I really enjoyed seeing the American Impressionists.  My favorite was probably Metcalf’s “Early Spring Afternoon, Central Park.”  If you visit, be sure to poke around some in the rest of the museum.  I really like “Rabble,” the piece over the stairs. 

My Fair Lady at Raleigh Memorial Auditorium: Jason and I saw this last night as part of our Broadway Series South season.   Jason thought it was “okay,” which is pretty good considering he couldn’t understand a lot of it (his hearing isn’t so awesome, but it was also that Prof. Higgins and A.P. Doolittle’s voices were gravelly and hard to understand) and it wasn’t a comedy (he really only likes comedy when it comes to theatre).  I thought it was adorable, though I was frustrated by not being able to understand Prof. Higgins all the time.  I was also disappointed that they changed the costumes for the Ascot scene.  I really loved Eliza and Col. Pickering – so cute!  They had a little set trouble last night, but they got that cleared right up.  If you like My Fair Lady and have a chance to catch the show, it’s definitely worth it.

Hard Times Cafe: We had dinner at the Hard Times Cafe before the show last night.  It’s funny – I’d meant for us to go to the Raleigh Times Bar, but I didn’t tell Jason the exact name so we went to the wrong place!  lol  I thought it was a cool place.  It’s a dive with a Texas theme.  When we sat down, the server brought us a dish with four different types of chili to try – Texas, Cincinnati, Terlingua, and vegetarian.  We thought the chili was pretty decent for not being made at our house.  I would’ve eaten any of it with the addition of some cayenne pepper.  Jason liked his chili cheese hot dogs (he chose the Terlingua chili), and I liked my Stella (on draft!) and cheeseburger.  The cheeseburger tasted just like it had been cooked on someone’s backyard grill.  I think HTC would be a good place to meet some friends for a couple beers, and I’d like to try the Abita Root Beer they have on tap too.  Word of warning:  According to a co-worker who enjoys the original location in Old Town Alexandria, it’s apparently not the same.  She was very disappointed with the Raleigh location.  Next time I get to pick a place to eat in Raleigh, I’ll definitely check out the Raleigh Times Bar.

Mysteries of the Lost Colony at the NC Museum of History:  Jason and I saw this exhibit on Friday night.  I’ve decided that I’m not good at history museums.  I’d rather read a book or visit a historical site.  If you are the history museum type, you’ll enjoy this exhibit.  Heck, I enjoyed it some – the mystery of the Lost Colony is just too interesting!

Entry filed under: Triangle.

Washington, DC Meme

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


