Washington, DC

November 29, 2007 at 10:01 am 2 comments

I just got back from a whirlwind trip to DC for work – drove up Tuesday afternoon and back Wednesday afternoon.  I’ve been to DC so many times that I can’t count them – a couple of times as a child, every spring break during undergrad for the national MAL competition, and several times to see friends or for work over the past several years.  Since I’ve been so many times and it’s not that far from where I live, I don’t think about DC as a special place.  Driving in to the city, I was reminded just special it really is.  The Washington Monument is a shining beacon from miles away.  Then, closer in, there’s the Capitol Building with it’s impressive dome.  We saw the White House as well.  The majesty of these buildings and monuments – and the things they represent – just makes me proud to be an American every time I see them.  It’s a wonderful feeling – makes me want to sing, “This is MY country!”

We stayed at the Four Points by Sheraton, a decent hotel in a good location. 

On Tuesday night, we had dinner at Bobby Van’s on New York Avenue.  I had a very nice filet – tender and perfectly cooked – along with some delicious french fries.  The three of us split a bottle of Italian red wine – good stuff.  Bobby Van’s has really nice glassware; we’ve all said we want new wine glasses after our dinner. 

On Wednesday, we had lunch at the restaurant in the hotel, Corduroy.  We had some trouble – one cw’s tuna smelled funny and they apparently forgot to make my lunch – so it took FOREVER.  I hate it when lunch takes a long time.  My lunch (steak and fries again!) was fine; nothing to write home about.  My cw’s initial order, the tuna salad, came with two poached quail eggs on top.  He was slightly taken aback but tried one.  He didn’t like it, so he gave me the other one to try.  I thought it was pretty good!  Oh, he’d also ordered the spring rolls as an appetizer.  They were very good.

Although I didn’t enjoy the long drives, I am looking forward to my next trip to DC, whenever that may be.

Entry filed under: TheStates.

Barcelona (part 2) Raleigh stuff

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth  |  November 29, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    you make me miss DC. 😦

    Reply
  • 2. DCfoodAmateur  |  December 3, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    I’ve been in Raleigh for a year now and your post makes me homesick! Great choice with Bobby Van’s, good food & great atmosphere. Next time, I’d suggest you consider branching out a bit whilst in our Nation’s Capital. First, go for some ethnic food, doesn’t matter what ethnicity you chose. Since moving to Raleigh, I am having chinese food withdrawal. My kingdom for a pho joint. While in DC, Personally, I would just go to Chinatown and pick one of the restaurants. Second, try Olives (the restaurant to be seen in while in DC) and/or Zatinya (which is ethnic – middle-eastern/greek tapas). Both of these choices are notorious for making walk-in wait forever, so call ahead. Good eating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


