Sicily: Wine and Chocolate

November 16, 2007 at 2:00 pm 2 comments

I am neither a foodie nor a wine connoisseur.  This blog is about traveling (and eating while traveling), and I haven’t been to Sicily.  That’s not going to stop me from sharing this with you though.  lol  If you’ve been reading my blog, you might remember my trip to A Southern Season a couple weeks ago.  My friend and I saw a neat wine and chocolate recommendation while we were there.  I’d been thinking about it during the week, and I decided I needed to know what they were like.  On our way back from South Carolina, I made poor Jason stop in Chapel Hill to get a bottle of wine and some chocolate.  Don’t worry – I let him pick out some for himself too!

The wine was Montalto Nero d’Avola 2004, a varietal (yes, I know some fancy wine words from my friend’s blog) from Sicily.  It was $10.99 and had a screw cap closure (apparently the type of closure matters?).  One of the SS staff members recommended it and suggested pairing it with the famous Sicilian bar, Bonajuto.  The lady in charge of the chocolate at SS was sure to explain to my friend and I that Bonajuto is not your traditional chocolate – it’s not shiny and it’s not smooth in texture.  I was intrigued, so I wanted to try both.

I had some of the wine with dinner and was surprised.  It was sweet, but sweet as in sweet-for-an-Italian-red not too-sweet-like-CH’s-Christmas-red.  It was very smooth – no tannin to speak of.  Maybe it is “ponderous” or maybe even “ripe“?  heehee  Anyway, I think it is a perfect beginner wine!  Or a good red for those who normally prefer white.  (Or me, since I’m not a big fan of the smoky/oaky reds.)

And the chocolate – I handed Jason a square, and he popped the whole thing in his mouth.  “Oh man, this is awful!”  “Now, I told you it’s not like regular chocolate!  And I can’t believe you just ate $1.00 worth of chocolate that fast.”  Determined to fully appreciate the chocolate, I slowly nibbled it.  As promised, it wasn’t like any chocolate I’d had before.  It was unmistakably chocolate, but it didn’t have the smooth, creamy texture.  Instead, it was a little dry and very grainy – almost the texture of sugar.  It was very flavorful.  I really liked it, and I would absolutely eat it (or similar) again – if I don’t have to pay $8 for one little bar!  And I definitely won’t waste expensive chocolate on my husband again.  Sheesh.  I’ll just buy him some Hershey’s wax.

Your traveling link:  Next time you’re in Sicily, you can take a tour of the famous Antica Dolceria Bonajuto.

P.S. This has nothing to do with Sicily but everything to do with wine: don’t forget that the new Beaujolais Nouveau was released yesterday!  Grab some and drink it as fast as you can.  😉

Entry filed under: Travel by Food.

NC Eatin’: Rowan County Barcelona (part 2)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sonadora  |  November 16, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Glad I could be of assistance!

    Reply
  • 2. Dolceria Bonajuto  |  November 17, 2007 at 6:12 am

    Hi, we want to thank you for the article and if you ever come in Sicily we will glad to have you in our shop.
    Bonajuto staff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


