NC Eatin’: Alamance County

November 12, 2007 at 10:17 am Leave a comment

Friday, November 9, 2007
Blue Ribbon Diner
1004 Mebane Oaks Road
Mebane, NC 27302

Jason and I went to see some friends in South Carolina this weekend, so I knew I could get in a couple of county visits too.  I knew we’d be going through Alamance around dinner time on Friday and figured we should stop there.  I did a little poking around on the ‘net for a place to eat, and I stumbled upon a recommendation for Blue Ribbon Diner.  Their website is www.bestfoodintown.com, so I decided we had to eat there.  They have two locations – one in Burlington and one in Mebane.  I’d been to Burlington several times, mostly to visit BridalMart, and I’d always wanted to visit Mebane.  So Mebane it was.

The outside of the diner was cute – very diner appropriate with the neon sign and accents.  The parking lot was packed, but we were seated right away in a typical diner booth (‘though much cleaner and newer than lots of diners).  As we looked around, we noticed that our fellow diners were mostly families, and everyone seemed to be pretty happy to be there.  

I ordered the dog bite basket and a strawberry milkshake, and Jason ordered the buffalo burger and a chocolate milkshake.  The fries were different than normal fries – big like steak fries only with ridges.  They were good.  I liked the dog bites (mini corn dogs), but they should have been warmer.  The milkshakes were very good.

As we left Mebane, I saw a sign for Triangle something or the other.  Mebane is in an odd position, straddling the Triangle and Piedmont Triad areas.  A little bit of Mebane is in Orange County, so most of the phone numbers in the town have the 919 area code instead of the 336 area code that the rest of Alamance County has.  Very strange!  (I promise we were in Alamance though!  I checked it out on MapQuest, which shows the county lines.)

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

NC Eatin’: Mecklenburg County Sparkle City, SC

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


