NC Eatin’: Mecklenburg County

November 7, 2007 at 1:02 pm 1 comment

Taverna 100
100 North Tryon Street 
Charlotte, NC

As I mentioned in my last post, Alecia and I went down to Charlotte to celebrate Jen’s birthday on Saturday.  Charlotte is on the brink of becoming a terrific little city due to its status as the second largest banking headquarters in the country.  The downtown Uptown is developing rapidly, with new skyrises and fancy condominium buildings popping up left and right.  The restaurant scene is coming along.  Professional sports fans should be satisfied with the Panthers if a bit disappointed with the lack of enthusiasm for the Bobcats.  Although lacking in the museum area, Charlotte does well with the performing arts.

Jen and Mike are thinking about having their rehearsal dinner in Uptown, so she chose Taverna 100 for her birthday dinner.  The four of us met our friends Elle and Jeremy at the restaurant.  Based on their website, I suspected I’d been there before.  I was right; it’s actually the restaurant my parents and I frequented when we went to shows in Charlotte while I was growing up (Asheville used to get even fewer Broadway tours than they do now, so we often visited Charlotte, Greenville, and Atlanta to get our fix).  It was wild how different the atmosphere was at night.  I remembered it as very bright, but the lighting was low and romantic when we arrived.  Since there was a wedding reception going on, we were tucked into a little room off to the side all by ourselves.  It was very nice.

Jen and Mike ordered a couple of appetizers – calamari (NOT fried) and some flat bread.  I thought $9 for bread was pretty expensive until it arrived – turns out the flat bread we ordered was essentially a pizza.  I really liked it.  I don’t eat seafood, so I can’t speak about the calamari.  It sure smelled disgusting though!  (I think all seafood smells disgusting.  Please bear with me.)  I ordered the beef tenderloin for my entree, and I was happy with my choice.  It was actually cooked to medium-rare and was tender.  For dessert, we ordered the chocolate “bliss” and chocolate torte.  Our server also brought us a sample of the pistachio and baklava ice cream.  I didn’t try the “bliss” (it had espresso in it – I’m caffeine sensitive and don’t care for the taste), but the torte and ice cream were fantastic.  I’d enjoy going back to Taverna 100 – hopefully when it’s warm so I can sit outside.

After dinner, we strolled over to Therapy.  It’s a fun little place to hang out, and they have an amazing “martini” selection with adorable names.  I’d been once before, and I knew exactly what I wanted – the “Especially Not Tonight ‘tini.”  It’s a strawberry cheesecake drink, and it’s fantastic.  I really need to track down cheesecake liquer so I don’t have to go all the way to Charlotte for that drink!  Be warned: it’s $11.50 for a “martini” there, not $9.50 like the website says.  Don’t worry – it’s totally worth it.  They’re huge.  If you’re in Charlotte during the week, I know they have a half-price night.  I think it’s a good thing I don’t live there… lol

 

 

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

NC Eatin’: Orange County NC Eatin’: Alamance County

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ami  |  November 7, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    I big puffy heart flat bread. And I SO love that you’re ordering your steak medium rare. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


