NC Eatin’: Orange County

November 5, 2007 at 2:53 pm Leave a comment

The Weathervane
201 South Estes Drive
Chapel Hill, NC 27514

I’d planned to visit Jujube for my Orange County establishment, but I was passing through on Saturday morning and couldn’t resist stopping at the Weathervane for brunch.  Weathervane is the little restaurant in A Southern Season, one of the largest gourmet shops in the country.  Although I was fortunate enough to live in the Chapel Hill area for three years, I’d deliberately avoided visiting A Southern Season.  I knew I would want everything and couldn’t afford anything on my student budget.  Since we’ve moved away, I just haven’t found the time to get back there.

My friend Alecia and I arrived at Weathervane around 9:30 am.  It was a little busy but not packed.  We were seated right away, and the nice waiter came over to take our drink orders.  I was disappointed that they no longer serve fresh squeezed orange juice as the menu states, so I stuck with water.  $2.50 for a glass of Florida’s Natural oj is a bit steep in my book.  I ordered the malted waffle with pecans, whipped cream, and real maple syrup (I asked them to hold the bananas).  It was love at first bite.  Alecia enjoyed her eggs Benedict but managed not to scarf all of hers down like I did my waffle.  The servers were ever eager to refill our drinks but a bit slow to bring the bill.  I imagine most people aren’t on their way somewhere else when they eat at the Weathervane, so I don’t think it’s a big deal. 

After we finished, we decided to grab a birthday treat for our friend Jen.  We were overwhelmed in a good way when we walked into A Southern Season.  I am sure I could spend hours there!  I was especially delighted in the wine and chocolate bar selections.  I just wish we’d had the chance to get Jen to share her treats with us!  The wine and chocolate we found for her sounded amazing.  Needless to say, I am already planning my next trip to Weathervane and A Southern Season.

About Orange County: I don’t know much about it other than the Chapel Hill/Carroboro area, but I doubt anyone would disagree with my appreciation for the area.  The UNC campus is charming, especially the Old Well.  The planetarium is awesome.  There are tons of terrific restaurants – really more than the population’s fair share – and coffee shops.  There are cute little boutiques, like Uniquities, and lots of great UNC shops, like Johnny T-shirt, on Franklin Street.  There are three dance clubs – the trashy Players, the uber trashy Treehouse (is that still what it’s called?), and then a third club that changes hands pretty often.  There are tons of bars, from cute Spanky’s to cheap Woody’s.  Then there are dives like Ye Olde Waffle Shop and Rathskeller.  Carrboro has Cat’s Cradle (concert venue), the Weaver Street Market Co-Op, Elmo’s Diner, and Mulberry Silks and Fine Fabrics.  Franklin Street really is the cure for all life’s ills.  Don’t know what to do for Halloween?  Go to Franklin Street!  Want to jump over a bonfire after the UNC men’s basketball team beats Duke?  Go to Franklin Street!  Bored and looking for fun people watching?  Go to Franklin Street!

 

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

101 Reasons Why the Triangle Rocks NC Eatin’: Mecklenburg County

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


