NC Eatin’: State Fair

October 22, 2007 at 9:20 am Leave a comment

 

Friday, October 12, 2007

I had the pleasure of attending the state fair on a Friday evening with Jason, Keith, and Tara.  The plan was to eat as much as possible and see lots of animals.  I’d count it a success.

1.  Corn dog: I’ve always loved corn dogs.  Growing up, I would beg my mom to take me to Corn Dog 7 in the Asheville Mall.  I called it Corn Dog Heaven and still mourn its closing.  Given this long love of corn dogs, that was first on my list.  I wanted a foot long, but I got a regular so I would have room in my belly for other treats.  My corn dog (from a stand also selling Philly cheesesteak sandwiches and brauts) was delicious even though it couldn’t compete with Corn Dog Heaven.  Side note: The fruit punch was awful.

2. Frozen Cheesecake Dipped in Chocolate: This wasn’t on my original list of items to consume, but it should’ve been.  Delish!  I’ll look for it again next year.

3. Bunnies: There were lots of bunnies in the rabbit building.  I didn’t realize how many types there were.  Anya would’ve freaked, but we all enjoyed them.

4. Hogway Speedway: I love watching goats and pigs race for Cheez Its.  Hilarious!  Keith got a cinnamon sugar pretzel, which he kindly shared.  It wasn’t quite as good as Auntie Anne’s but worth eating.

5. Al’s French Fries: I love french fries even more than corn dogs, so I wanted to find some really good fries, hopefully seasoned, curly, waffle, or some combination thereof.  I thought I was in luck when we happened upon Al’s French Fries.  I asked for a regular order of curly fries and waited… and waited… and waited…  After about 5 minutes, the guy handed me a large order (he thought I was cute).  After getting a nice pool of ketchup and Texas Pete’s, I dug in, only to be disappointed.  The fries were soggy and limp.  Of course that didn’t stop me from eating them.  *rolling eyes*

6. Livestock: We saw cows, mules, donkeys, horses, and nekkid sheep.  The sheep were very friendly.  We also saw chickens and turkeys, including babies!  The baby chicks were adorable.  They don’t let people hold them anymore because people apparently don’t know how to hold them gently and were squashing them. 😦

7. Cinnamon Roll: None of us could resist the huge yummy looking cinnamon rolls, and I’m glad we didn’t.  They were good!  They reminded me of my mom’s homemade rolls.  I wish I hadn’t had so many other plans, because I also wanted to try the mini-donuts near the cinnamon roll place.  Oh well, it’s something to look forward to next year.

8. Fried Stuff: Finally!  We found the stand with fried Coke, fried pb&j, and fried candy bars.  I got the fried Coke and fried pb&j.  The Coke was served in a cup and topped with whipped cream and a cherry.  I thought it was pretty good – tasted like Coke flavored funnel cake.  The fried pb&j tasted exactly as I expected; I just wish I’d been able to find the jelly before my last bite!  (Note: My last bite didn’t finish the “sandwich.”  There was still jelly to be had.)  Keith and Tara got fried Milky Ways and Tara let me have some of hers.  It was so weird!  Fried on the outside and ooey-gooey melted candy bar on the inside.  I am not sure if I’ll try that again – though the fried Reeses peanut butter cups were tempting.

9. Village of Yesteryear: A co-worker told me that Old Salem usually has a booth in the Village to sell their cookies and Moravian spice cake (one of my favorite things!), but they weren’t in there this year.  I was disappointed.  The other booths were neat, especially the wood carving people.

10. Education & Commercial Buildings: Since we’d eaten so much, we decided we’d get weighed to see if we’d gained any weight.  Tara and I guessed about right for ourselves, but Jason underestimated (I bet he forgot to take into account clothes and shoes).  I found the amazing candy apple stand (I got an “ET” apple – covered in caramel, rolled in peanut butter chips, drizzled with chocolate – loved it!), got an NC State sticker, had my ring cleaned,  found the maple sugar cotton candy (good, but I prefer the regular kind), visited the Democrats’ booth, and got teased by the Republicans.  Good times.

11. Leaving: We perused some grills and hot tubs, then Jason and I headed back to the car while we watched the fireworks.

12. What I Missed: I didn’t get a ham biscuit from the Methodists, but they’re around every year so that can wait.  I also didn’t get any NC State ice cream, but the four of us plan to visit campus at some point in the near future to eat it on an emptier belly.

Pics are here.

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

NYC v.6.2 (8/18-19/07) NC Eatin’: Guilford County

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


