NC Eatin’: Guilford County

October 22, 2007 at 12:15 pm 1 comment

 

Thursday, October 18, 2007
Yum Yum Better Ice Cream
1219 Spring Garden Street
Greensboro, North Carolina

Since I was on my way to Asheville for the weekend, I decided to stop in Greensboro for lunch.  I planned a visit to Yum Yum (est. 1906) based on some recommendations from Chowhounds.

After initially going in the wrong direction down Spring Garden Street, I found Yum Yum smack dab in the middle of the UNCG campus.  I wasn’t too surprised when I walked in and found mostly college students.  It’s a cute little dive – booths that look like they’re from the ’70s and other ancient things.  After running to the ATM in the parking lot (cash only – arrg!), I ordered a hot dog, the only option for lunch, and a Cheerwine.  I don’t normally drink soda anymore, but I felt I had to have a Cheerwine there.  It’s a Carolina thing.

My hot dog was fluorescent pink!  I’d seen dogs that color before, but I’d always been too put off by the color to try one.  Luckily my fears were groundless and the hot dog was pretty tasty.

Since Yum Yum is an ice cream company, I had to try that too.  I got a medium cup, the smallest way to get two flavors, of strawberry and butterscotch.  It reminded me of Hershey ice cream – very creamy and not hugely flavorful.  That’s my least favorite style of ice cream, so I wasn’t too excited.

When I finished, I drove around town a bit.  The UNCG campus was beautiful and downtown Greensboro was adorable.  There were lots of cute little shops and restaurants, which reminded me of Greenville, South Carolina.  I also spotted the famous Woolworth building.  On my way back to I-40, I saw lots of gorgeous old houses and nice little parks.  Greensboro is a lovely town and much more interesting than I’d expected.

   

Entry filed under: NCEatin.

NC Eatin’: State Fair NC Eatin’: Buncombe County

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Justin Durango  |  December 9, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Yum Yum’s! I used to eat there as a kid when could convince my parents I deserved it. Great place to eat a chilli dog. You have a very interesting idea about eating in every NC county. I might have to try something similar… only 73 more to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


