NYC v.6.2 (8/18-19/07)

October 16, 2007 at 8:04 am 3 comments

I kind of hate to tell you about my hotel.  It was so great that I want to keep it as a secret for myself.  Hotel Mela was really terrific.  This was my sixth trip to NYC, so I was expecting another teeny run-down room for my $200 despite the good reviews on Trip Advisor.  I also expected that I wouldn’t be able to get into my room when I arrived at about 9 am.  I was very pleasantly surprised!  I went right up to my spacious and well-appointed room.  I couldn’t believe my good luck, especially considering that I could almost see Bubba Gump’s on Times Square from the front door. 

By the time I finished settling in Robert hadn’t arrived yet, so I set off to do some shopping.  He arrived not long after, and we hoofed it over to the Gershwin to try our luck at the “Wickedlottery.  That was a no-go, so we snagged “Spelling Bee” tickets back at the TKTS booth.  We had lunch at John’s Pizzeria, which receives rave reviews from fans of New York style pizza.  I thought it was pretty good – for New York pizza.  I’d rather have Chicago style pizza.  I tried to get chosen to be a part of the Bee, but they didn’t pick me.  So Robert and I settled in and enjoyed the show.  It was just as good as I remembered from when I’d seen it in Boston – not surprising since all or almost all of the cast was the same cast I’d seen before!  I loved them. After the “Bee,” we rested at the hotel.  I’d been up since about 4:30 am and we were going to be up pretty late, so it was a necessity.  We wandered about some and then headed for dinner at Trattoria Trecolori.  It was reasonably priced for New York – and pretty good!  I’d go there again.  Finally – “RENT”!  It seemed like everyone in the audience screamed when “Mark” and “Roger” came onstage.  They were so great!  The rest of the cast was pretty terrific too.  My only complaint was that Tamyra Gray (playing Mimi, from American Idol) was uneven.  I was also bummed that the stage door was a mob scene afterwards.  I really wanted to get Mark and Anthony’s autographs, but it looked like it was going to be as bad as the whole Joshua Jackson thing in London.  We headed on out to the IFC Center. 

Ah, Buffy.  I cannot adequately express how much I love that show – the musical episode in particular.  I was so tickled when I learned they’re showing the musical once a month in NY Rocky Horror style.  We had a little issue with the tickets (I’d used a disposable credit card number since I bought the tickets online; they allegedly couldn’t print our tickets without the actual card), but we got in line about 11 pm.  Yes, there was already a line of about 30 people ahead of us, and the show was sold out.  We chatted a bit with the other Buffy freaks fans, accepted compliments for our t-shirts, and picked up our goody bags.  Finally, it was time!  I thought it was terrific, and I cannot wait to go again.  There was just so much going on (from yelling “SHUT UP, DAWN!” to blowing bubbles and playing the kazoo) that I didn’t get to properly watch the show!  They were showing two more episodes following a session of Buffy trivia, but we were too tired to hang on.  We caught a cab back and hit our respective sacks.  (Side note: Thank goodness we went when we did!  Fox has pulled the license.)

 Sunday was another long but fun day.  We had breakfast at Westway Diner (standard diner fare, nothing to write home about or repeat, not sure what the fuss is about).  We’d gone there mainly because it would be fairly quick so we could grab a bus to the Cloisters.  When an M4 finally showed up, we found out the bus ride would take about an hour!  Ack!  We decided to visit the Central Park Zoo instead.  I was disappointed that it’s not free anymore, but I was still excited to finally visit.  Some of the exhibits made me feel bad because I didn’t think they had enough room, but most of them were pretty good.  I loved the rainforest area with all the birds. We headed back to Times Square, grabbed tickets for “Xanadu,” and then had a snack at Junior’s (tourist joint, but good).  After the show, we went for an early dinner at Le Madeleine, a French place on 43rd.  It was terrific!  Both Robert and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I just wish we’d had time for dessert, but we had to rush off to get home. 

Pics are here.

Entry filed under: TheStates.

Xanadu (NYC v.6.1, 8/18-19/07) NC Eatin’: State Fair

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ami  |  October 26, 2007 at 11:42 am

    I’m so jealous of your NYC weekend! I big puffy sparkly heart NYC. 😦

    Reply
  • 2. TTT: Pack light! « Feisty Tourist  |  December 12, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    […] I highly recommend packing light.  My favorite packing experience was when I went to New York in August with just a small backpack.  I had a couple of changes of clothes, toiletries, and my notes on my […]

    Reply
  • 3. RENT is closing « Feisty Tourist  |  January 30, 2008 at 8:28 am

    […] find (not being willing to pay anything other than what Ticketmaster charges) and flew in for an overnight visit with my friend […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


