NC Eatin’: Sampson County

September 25, 2007 at 2:28 pm 1 comment

Thursday, September 20, 2007
Gracie’s Grille
123 Vance Street
Clinton, NC

On Thursday, I drove about 16 miles south of I-40 to Clinton for a work related matter. Clinton is a sleepy little town that serves as the county seat and has a population of less than 10,000. Clinton’s most famous resident (that I’ve heard of anyway) is Lauch Faircloth, the hog farmer who served one term in the U.S. Senate in the 1990s and was then defeated by Democrat John Edwards. What I saw of Sampson County is exactly what I’d expected from rural Eastern North Carolina – cotton and tobacco fields, some trailers and run-down homes with some nicer ones mixed in. The land is beautiful, but the air is sometimes stinky from a meat packing plant.

I had been to Clinton on Monday for work but didn’t have time to do anything other than grab something from McDonald’s. Today’s visit provided me with an opportunity to visit a local establishment. I was waiting my turn when we broke for lunch. Although I was disappointed that a one hour thing was going to consume my entire day, I was also glad to have the time in Clinton. I’d spotted a little grill just across the street when I’d parked, so I headed over to see if it looked good. I knew as soon as I peeked inside that I was in for a treat. Everyone in the place seemed local – and comfortable. Most of the diners were wearing comfy jeans and big t-shirts. I was the only suit in the place.

It’s a hole in the wall kind of place. The kitchen is part of the main area, with a counter area, some booths, and a few tables for the patrons. The air conditioning either wasn’t working or wasn’t on, so it was pretty warm from the grill. The options weren’t vast, but everything sounded good to me – burgers, chicken sandwiches, fries, and homemade pie. I took a stool at the counter and ordered a cheeseburger, fries, and pecan pie. When I pronounced it “peh-cahn” pie, the waitress repeated it back as “pee-can” pie. Hilarious! The pecan pie was decent, the fries very good, and the cheeseburger amazing. I had no qualms telling the fellow manning the grill that I very much enjoyed my lunch there. My first official meal of my quest was a success. I hope the rest will be as much fun.

 

Entry filed under: NCEatin. Tags: .

Mission: NC Eatin’ NC Eatin’: Wake County

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lara a.k.a. kandi  |  September 25, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    “”When I pronounced it “peh-cahn” pie, the waitress repeated it back as “pee-can” pie. Hilarious! “”

    That IS funny. I would have said, “nooooo I said peh cahn.” 🙂 This is going to be fun and read, and maybe when I come we can go to a place you haven’t been too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


