Back from the Galapagos Islands

June 9, 2010 at 5:52 pm 5 comments

We just got back from the trip of a lifetime Monday evening.  Here’s my brief overview:

The preamble:  None of our usual travel companions joined us (we almost always travel with friends). This trip ended up costing a lot more than we planned due to the volcano issue (new plane tickets booked last minute, hotel, cab, food). The Celebrity Xpedition desk people were really rude to us and misinformed. We missed the pre-cruise city tour in Quito. We got sick with colds. My husband got seasick. On the last excursion, I slid on loose gravel, scraping my leg and breaking my camera (Nikon D90; don’t worry – I have insurance for it). This was by far the worst luck we’ve ever had on a trip, including our trip to Mexico that got canceled last year due to swine flu.

The verdict : It was the most amazing thing we’ve ever done, and I have serious doubts that any other trip for the rest of our lives will come close to competing with it.

  • I got stepped on by a baby sea lion when getting off the panga (small boat used to tender between the ship and shore) for the first excursion.
  • A penguin bumped into my leg repeatedly.
  • A snake curled around the edge of my husband”s shoe. (Thank goodness I missed this particular moment – I shrieked when I came upon the snake a couple minutes later.)
  • We saw blue footed boobies dancing and nesting – they even showed us their eggs.
  • We saw waved albatrosses flying (amazing – 7.5 foot wingspan), landing (hilarious), and nesting (saw eggs).
  • We saw a giant dude tortoise humping a chick tortoise and groaning. haha
  • We snorkeled with sea lions, sea turtles, penguins, sharks, rays, and loads of fish.
  • We saw a huge number of swimming iguanas (these are the only marine iguanas in the world, and they only take to the water at certain times of day).
  • We made new friends, who I miss already.

It was the trip of a lifetime, well worth every penny and bit of hassle. Sure, I wish it would’ve been cheaper and easier, but the point is that it was hugely expensive, we had a lot of problems, and it was STILL amazing.  If you have ever considered visiting these islands but hesitated due to cost or whatever, quit hesitating – book now!

Pictures and more info to come.

Entry filed under: CenturyClub, Cruisin', Destinations. Tags: .

Destination: Tallinn, Estonia It’s been a while

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. onetravel  |  July 28, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Hi,

    This is a wonderful blog! It was a very good read.

    I was wondering if you would be interested in guest blogging on my blog. It is a collection of my travels and the travels of my guests. If you scan the site you can see that now almost 100% of the posts are from guests. Lately I’ve been finding many people interested in guest posting.

    Included in your post will be a link to your website using whatever anchor text or key words you wish and a description of your site (if you choose to include one.)

    My blog (onetravel.wordpress.com) receives about 2000 visitors a day and that number is steadily growing.

    So if you are interested in being a guest, please let me know.

    Send me an Email:
    gchristodoulou(-at-)OneTravel(-dot-)com

    Warm Regards,
    George Christodoulou
    Travel Blogger | OneTravel
    gchristodoulou(-at-)OneTravel(-dot-)com

    Reply
  • 2. Emily  |  August 6, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Your trip to the Galapagos Islands does seem magical indeed! I am hoping for a trip there sometime this year or next. Coudl you provide some tips, details and whatnot? Thanks!

    P.S I love your blog and use am using your barcelona post to help plan my trip there later this month.

    Reply
  • 3. Galapagose Cruises  |  May 25, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Galapagos Islands are like heaven, Few days back I came from there, I would strongly suggest it, for a great vacation.

    Reply
  • 4. Isabela II Yacht  |  May 26, 2011 at 2:13 am

    It is really a life time experience. Very nice and descriptive article.

    Reply
  • 5. Isabela II Yacht  |  May 26, 2011 at 5:48 am

    Nice article and really very Informative, though it is difficult to explain Galapagos in WORDS.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

